You're not going to like this...(C&C Generals)

Discussion in 'Games' started by AppleMatt, Mar 31, 2004.

  1. macrumors 68000

    AppleMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    I'm aware there's a currently active Generals specs thread, but I think this demands a new one;

    http://www.insidemacgames.com/previews/view.php?ID=148

    Apparently, with everything on low on a 1.25GHz PowerBook Generals didn't run well. At all. Aspyr said "if your system doesn't meet the specs, don't even bother"

    :( I love Mac gaming

    AppleMatt
     
  2. job
    macrumors 68040

    job

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Location:
    in transit
    #2
    Remember, this game, when initially released, also ran slowly on decent PC hardware.

    It isn't a shoddy port or anything. It's just a very demanding game, just like Bungie's Halo.
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    Gymnut

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Location:
    Hawaii
    #3
    Well that is a bit disheartening to hear although I'm curious as to how it will fare with desktop processors, more ram and a faster video card.
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    #4
    runs fine full blast on my barely 700 dollar PC...

    that is almost a year old, now...
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68000

    AppleMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    I think what we need now is;

    - Apple to release 10.4 with massive OpenGL and graphics improvements.
    - ATi and nVidia to take driver-writing seriously (especially nVidia).
    - Aspyr to announce an immediate update with massive performance gains.
    - Ryan Gordon to show Aspyr how to write a real performance gains update.
    - Supermarkets offering free RAM upgrades as incentives to buy their tea-bags.
    - A miracle.

    Simple really, when you break it down :)
    To be fair though, when you look at the videos of the game (lower quality ones on Apple's site are quicker to download), it looks very very impressive.

    AppleMatt
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #6
    Don't leave stuff out when criticizing something, especially when its stated only 1 sentence later...

     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    #7
    It forces 800x600 play in multiplayer.. how lame.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 68000

    AppleMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    Two reasons I (consciously) didn't include that;
    1. Aspyr directly said if your machine doesn't meet the requirements, don't bother. How often do developers say that?
    2. How many times have we heard "performance has improved, will be improved, could be improved, might be improved, ok if these planets are in-line and you stand on your head there's a minute chance...". It hasn't been released yet, do you think they were going to say "no it runs like crap, I wouldn't buy it that's for sure"
    (They've got quite an irony going on there)

    Also, the specs were jumped at a v.late stage in the development cycle (after the beta was released).
    Assuming they got a 25% performance increase (generous I know, but they might have), that means it'll be playable on a 1.25GHz PowerBook with everything on low when planes etc fly in. Which is...good...I suppose.
    Meanwhile benpatient has got in running full-blast on his year old medium-spec PC.

    It's not like I hid anything, the article was linked before my comments were made. If people are interested in C&C Generals the chances of them reading it are fairly high. Anyway, it's rude to tell people what to do. Let's wait until the 16th and see what happens.

    AppleMatt
     
  9. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #9
    Arg.

    ARG.


    AHHGGGG!


    Damn them!


    Bumped up the specs and laugh in my face!

    Damn you Aspyr!!
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    oingoboingo

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #10
    A friend of mine had an Athlon XP 2000+ system with a 256MB Radeon 9700 Pro...a fairly decent gaming system. He said that C&C Generals ran only at an 'average' level of performance on that system. He subsequently upgraded the motherboard and CPU to a 3.06GHz Pentium 4, and said the improvement in game fluidity was huge. He had the same graphics card. So it looks like C&C Generals is CPU limited, rather than GPU limited, even on its 'native' platform of x86/Windows.

    This kind of thing had to happen sooner or later though...the G4s just aren't able to cut the mustard these days. Nothing as slow as a 1.25GHz G4 has been sold in the PC world for quite a while. Remember why we were all getting excited about the G5 last year...it was for a reason!
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Rezet

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Location:
    Connecticut, United States of America
    #11
    me no care. me can run any game. :p :D
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    oingoboingo

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #12
    Since you dropped enough money on that dual 1.8 rig to buy about 20 Xboxes, I sincerely hope you can :)
     
  13. macrumors member

    Kelvin

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Location:
    SFBA, CA
    #13
    Actually 10.3 has massive OpenGL updates. Nothing revolutionary but 10.3 does bring OpenGL on the mac up to snuff in a lot of areas; namely PBuffers. Developers can now to fast, native render to texture and off screen rendering. There's also a lot of other improvements that I don't care to remember right now. Lots of bringing the OpenGL features down to carbon/cocoa interfaces too.

    The ATi driver writers are cool. Jeremy Sandmel worked with me personally to fix a Radeon driver bug (and I'm an indie dev!). For anyone who is interested it's a texture rowlength bug that goes way back to the introduction of texture rectangles. For you developers, you can see it by setting your incoming texture data rowlength to > 8196bytes (actual texture size _must_ be < 8196bytes) e.g. a 3000px wide incoming buffer. In 10.3.3 and below you will see the bug. Jeremy submitted the fix for the next update, but missed the 10.3.3 deadline so you'll see it fixed in 10.3.4.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 68000

    AppleMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    Oh god yes, that was one of the main reasons I upgraded and also followed the 10.3.3 update so closely. Somewhere there's a thread about 10.3.3 improvements a few weeks in and I harped on about graphics improvements.

    I've always been more fond of ATi drivers than nVidia simply because of what they managed to squeeze out of the Rage series. I was constantly amazed by the improvements the monthly updates (ahh back in the day!) brang.

    Good work on the bug catch, btw ;)

    AppleMatt

    edit: Can't PM you. Do you have any info on other bugs/problems with the current OpenGL implementation?
     
  15. Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #15
    The game was acceptable on low settings on an 867MHz Qwoosh. Naturally this is a Desktop vs. Laptop, but it was acceptable.
     
  16. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    #16
    My guess would be, every time you ask them directly(at least in Aspyr's case). I asked them a while ago if my iBook 600 w/8 Megs VRAM would run Ghost Recon, and their answer was a simple , 'the game won't run on anything less than 16 Megs of VRAM'.

    Of course, this proved to be false.

    I suppose they always stand by the requirements they publish, because if not it wouldnt make much sense to state them at all.
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Location:
    Europe (EU)
    #17
    Tested the demo on my iBook G4.

    It's playable (800x600, low details).

    But I don't like the game, so I'm not going to buy it.
     
  18. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    #18
    Uh, that preview was based on a beta version that IMG was able to play way before this demo was even released. Generals is currently Gold Master (some people somehow already got their copies), and it can be assumed what we see performance-wise in the demo is what's we're gonna get in the full version.

    That news is old.
     
  19. thread starter macrumors 68000

    AppleMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #19
    I'm sure after posting that you realised the thread was started a day after the article was posted, way way before the demo was released ;)

    AppleMatt
     
  20. macrumors 6502a

    ExoticFish

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Location:
    The inner depths of madness, aka Kent, OH
    #20
    i played the demo on my 12" PB and it ran fine on 1024x768 medium quality. played through the tutorial but i dunno, i've never been a CC fan.
     
  21. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    #21
    Darn people making old threads resurface. :D
     

Share This Page