Zip app

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by tuartboy, Jul 15, 2005.

1. tuartboy macrumors 6502a

tuartboy

Hey, I'm fairly new to this OS X thing and I have a question about archiving.

Does the context menu archive command compress the file or just archive it? I look at the archived file and it appears to be the same size as before i zipped it. Is this supposed to happen and do I need to get 3rd party zip? I have dropbox right now, but I want something free if I can.

Thanks guys.

2. cooknwitha macrumors 6502a

cooknwitha

It all depends on what kind of files you're trying to compress. Some won't go any smaller.

Check out StuffIt and I'm pretty sure that zips as well. Its usually included with the OS anyway.

3. tuartboy thread starter macrumors 6502a

tuartboy

stuffit is not included with tiger

and only expander is free. to stuff, you have to buy it

4. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

~Shard~

No need to go third party - as cooknwitha said, just use StuffIt. A version should be installed already in OS X and if you need something more powerful, you can buy the Pro version for next to nothing, as I recall. Definitely worth it if you plan on doing a lot of compressing and such.

5. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

~Shard~

Really? I had no idea - I'm still on Panther, and StuffIt came with my machine. Why on Earth would Apple remove a useful utility like that from the OS? Well, I guess this is another item to add to my ever-growing list of reasons not to move to Tiger...

6. tuartboy thread starter macrumors 6502a

tuartboy

Yeah, I think it's because apple is now including archiving into their os. You can even get folder actions that zip any files you drop into the folder and stuff like that.

I was just wondering why none of my files were getting smaller. I know compressing jpegs does nothing really, but i zipped some disk images i had that were 700 meg or so and nothing happened. That seemed odd.

7. DavidLeblond macrumors 68020

DavidLeblond