Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

buffalo

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jun 5, 2005
Tacoma, WA
I tried to put this in an appropriate forum but if it's not could someone please point me toward the right place...

I don't know anything about recordings and Garageband so this isn't a big deal if it doesn’t work.

Ok, I'm thinking about a switch to a Mac (probably an iMac or iBook once they get updated). I play the cello and I was thinking it would be cool if I could record myself playing and then use Garageband and put the music on a CD.

Is this possible to do with a cello? Are there any recorders that would get decent sound (if so what kind and about how much would I spend)? If this is even possible, how would I put the recordings onto the computer?

I appreciate your help.

GimmeSlack12

macrumors 603
Apr 29, 2005
San Francisco
I'm a fellow musician. A hobby at least, but alas my guitar has been recorded many many times through garageband. The biggest factor right off the bat is what kind of microphone are you planning on using. This will be the point that will cost you the most ($30-$150).

Importing sound into a Mac laptop is based on getting sound inputted to the machine. The easiest/cost-efficient way is the iMic ($20). Its a USB sound input device and is very easy to use. Through a cello, unless you have a electric pickup in the instrument, then I'd imagine you will be playing into a mic. Garageband is a sinch, simple yet powerful.

Also note, I don't see the Mac laptops being updated anytime soon.

Duff-Man

Contributor
Dec 26, 2002
Albuquerque, NM