£1270 Mac Pro or £1400 iMac

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by rjheys, Jan 18, 2009.

  1. rjheys macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    #1
    I am looking at getting a new mac desktop and can't make up my mind on what to get. I currently have a 3 year old iMac and a last gen MacBook Pro and need a computer to replace the iMac . My two choices are a mac pro (one 2.8GHZ Quad-Core, 2GB, 320GB, GeForce 8800 GT) at £1270 or an iMac (3.06 GHZ, 4GB, 1TB, GeForce 8800 GS) at £1400. It will mainly be used for HD video editing. I am starting to lean towards the Mac Pro because of the Quad-Core. What would be best?
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    Neither, because they're both due for updates. The iMac will be updated first.
     
  3. rjheys thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    #3
    Not yet

    Yea, I won't be needing one for another month or so.
     
  4. rylin macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    #4
    If you only have those two options and aren't going to upgrade later on I would go with the iMac.
    With iMovie '09, the preview renders are just overlays done with the graphics card -- it's the final render that's CPU intensive.
    2GB of RAM just doesn't go that far these days, plus with HD video, you'll soon learn to appreciate the 1TB disk, even if another improvement of iMovie '09 is to just reference the video clips (i.e., the video exists on disk in one copy, even if you use a clip in several projects).

    FWIW, I'm in the same thoughts as you are, except I'm waiting for an updated QC iMac before making up my mind.
    Primary uses being photography and HD video editing.
     
  5. OllyW Moderator

    OllyW

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Location:
    The Black Country, England
    #5
    Don't forget to allow for the cost of a quality monitor to go with the Mac Pro.
     
  6. thioheac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    #6
    Lol you could get a better pc for half the price.
     
  7. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #7
    Of a Mac Pro? I think not.
     
  8. thioheac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    #8
    Yes. The ram, hard disk and graphics card would be like £250 tops. Motherboard and cpu are pretty cheap to probably around £350
     
  9. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #9
    Mhmm... Do you know the price of Harpertown chips?
     
  10. thioheac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    #10
    You dont really need it for video editing. Graphics card should be the most expensive.
     
  11. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #11
    Kay.

    Do you know the price of the Quadro FX 5600/5800?
     
  12. thioheac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    #12
    The mac doesn't have that. I said build a better one. Not the best one.
     
  13. vendettabass macrumors 6502a

    vendettabass

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Location:
    Seoul, South Korea
    #13
    I vote the iMac, with any luck, it'll have these new processors.
     
  14. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #14
    £350 tops? :eek:

    Jezz pal, where you shop? I just spent near £1000 on two graphics cards,
    and that doesn't include the mobo, chip and ram!! Nor does it include my 1.2Kw PSU.
     
  15. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #15
    Yeah... they do.
     

Share This Page