£1300 budget; Pro, Pro with retina, Air

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Georgehiggins89, Jul 31, 2013.

1. Georgehiggins89 macrumors newbie

Hi guys, I'm currently looking to splash out on a mac and not sure which one to go for. My budget is £1300 but the less i spend the better.

My needs aren't anything drastic. I am a lecturer so design a lot of powerpoints, I also do a fair amount of video editing for YouTube (nothing major, videos tend to be under 10 mins), but I'll edit and upload a few videos a week. I want a 13" because I travel 90 mins to work via train and need my laptop.

I'm undecided whether to go for;

1) MacBook Pro regular version - 13", i7 processor, 8GB RAM, 750GB Hard drive, HD graphics 4000 - £1249
    2) MacBook Pro retina version - 13", i5 processor, 8GB RAM, 128GB flash storage, HD graphics 4000 - £1249
    3) MacBook Air - 13", i5 processor, 8GB RAM, 128GB flash storage, HD graphics 5000 - £1029

Any advice or other recommendations please share!

2. rctlr macrumors 6502a

rctlr

Personally, The Air.
    It has the most power for the least money, and is elegant, sleek and light.

If you are editing videos for youtube, and they are in SD (480 height), then in my opinion there's no need for retina.

3. OrchardGale macrumors newbie

Prices &c.

Go for the retina -- SO MUCH BETTER!

as price seems to be an issue, use the online apple education store. You seem to be quoting full prices--as a lecturer, you can use the education store, which gives you a 10-15% discount PLUS a 3-year warranty. Plus, at the mo, you get £70 iTunes Store gift card--you have to be on the uni network for this to work (or VPN). Buying in an apple retail store/reseller does not include the free 3-year warranty. Hope this helps!

----------

The retina screen makes it better -- just changed to a rMBP, and the difference is amazing. I am never going to buy a non-retina computer again.

The educational store can be found at: