£929 for a 1.87ghz MBP refurb UK

majorp

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Nov 28, 2005
UK !!!
Trying to get the best deal, I am a HE student so i can get full edu discount but don't really want to spend ALL of my cash on yonah. I need a laptop now. Do you think that this is a good deal considering i can get full edu discount?

Zimmy

macrumors member
Jul 19, 2005
Do get HE disocount on Refurbs?

how much is full HE discount vs normal edu discount?

ZIm

majorp

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Nov 28, 2005
UK !!!
the cheapest refurb macbook pro form the HE store is

£1,189.10

againsts the refurb

£928.85

is £260.15 cheaper.

There are other points though, from the edu store you get 3 years warranty as standard. And from the edu store it would be the 2ghz model vs 1.87ghz from the refurb.

Zimmy said:
Do get HE disocount on Refurbs?
sadly not.

Zimmy

macrumors member
Jul 19, 2005
Ahh i thought as much..

wouldnt mind the cheap mac mini on there.. now all i gotta do is find the cash

ZIm

dhc

macrumors regular
Jan 10, 2006
UK
If its a consideration, for what its worth, I bought this model from the refurb store earlier this year and have had no issues (that weren't as a result of my son putting coins in the optical drive slot) whatsoever.

MisterEd

macrumors 6502
Jan 2, 2006
It's cos you're looking at the 1st Rev model, 1.83GHz. The base model now is 2GHz.

majorp

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Nov 28, 2005
UK !!!
MisterEd said:
It's cos you're looking at the 1st Rev model, 1.83GHz. The base model now is 2GHz.
majorp said:
There are other points though, from the edu store you get 3 years warranty as standard. And from the edu store it would be the 2ghz model vs 1.87ghz from the refurb.
This is part of my dilema.

£260 for 0.13Ghz, 3 year warranty?

Zimmy

macrumors member
Jul 19, 2005