“Brisk Walk”?

oeagleo

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Feb 5, 2016
West Jordan, Utah
What exactly does Apple Watch use to determine credit for exercise? This morning I got one minute exercise credit for walking to the coffee pot and pouring a cup of coffee, but later, over an hours worth of shoveling snow got jack. My heart rate was solidly in zone 3 according to Garmin zones, but nothing. Does Apple Watch use zones, or do the use some arbitrary random number generator?

BigMcGuire

Contributor
Jan 10, 2012
California
I’m no expert and have only had an Apple Watch for a year. Seems that anything under 120 bpm isn’t considered enough for Apple Watch to count as exercise for me. But I’ve had strenuous activities where it thought I was. But I can’t walk fast enough for it to count as exercise even at almost full speed.

Reactions: oeagleo

oeagleo

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Feb 5, 2016
West Jordan, Utah
I’m no expert and have only had an Apple Watch for a year. Seems that anything under 120 bpm isn’t considered enough for Apple Watch to count as exercise for me. But I’ve had strenuous activities where it thought I was. But I can’t walk fast enough for it to count as exercise even at almost full speed.