“Unable to load photos” in iMessage on new 12.9 iPP.

Discussion in 'iPad' started by RevTEG, Nov 25, 2018.

  1. RevTEG, Nov 25, 2018
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2018

    RevTEG macrumors 6502a

    RevTEG

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #1
    Hello everyone,
    As the title says. I get an “unable to load photos” when I try to send a picture from inside the iMessage app on my gen three launch day 12.9 iPP.

    I’ve had this issue since launch day (Nov 7). My new iPad was set up from an iCloud backup of a gen one 12.9 iPP. The gen one pro has never had this issue. It still functions as normal. My new gen three 12.9 is the first time I’ve experienced this issue.

    Photos all load normally when I look at them directly from the actual photos app. I can even select and share them directly from within the photo app. But they refuse to load from inside the iMessage app.

    I’ve complexly closed the app and reopened many times. I’ve restarted the iPad several times. Nothing is correcting this.

    Same issue on WiFi and cellular.

    Any ideas what’s causing this?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. RevTEG thread starter macrumors 6502a

    RevTEG

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #2
    Just as a fast follow up. I sent Apple support on Twitter a screen recording of my issue. After than ran through many different “test” they determined that I need to do a clean install from iTunes. Apple said An erase and set up from an iCloud backup wouldn’t fix the issue. I’ve been backing up to iCloud for several years. My last three generations of iPads have never been connected to iTunes on my MacBook. I thought we were beyond needing a MacBook for an iPad.
     
  3. nippyjun macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    #3
    Have you tried to turn off, then turn on iMessages?

    Have you tried to sign out of iCloud, then sign back in?
     
  4. RevTEG thread starter macrumors 6502a

    RevTEG

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #4
    I haven’t tried that! I can’t believe I didnt even think of that. Apple support didnt think to recommend it either. Going to to try it right now. Thank you for the reply.
    --- Post Merged, Nov 26, 2018 ---
    Signed out and back into iMessage... problem remains.
    Signed out and back into iCloud... problem remains.

    Good try though.
     
  5. seadragon Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    #5
    If you're going to do a reset, I would first try doing a normal "reset all setting and erase content" without the use of a computer and iTunes. Then, set it up as a new iPad without restoring from backup. Then try using iMessage and attach a photo. If it works, you'll know it's some sort of incompatibility with the backed up data.

    I've found that setting up as a new iPad is generally the best way to go to avoid strange issues with the backed up data going from an older device to a newer device. I realize is "supposed" to work but in reality it doesn't always. It's more work and pain to setup as new, but usually results in a better experience going forward.
     
  6. RevTEG thread starter macrumors 6502a

    RevTEG

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #6
    Thanks for the advice. I’ll try that. I’m out of town with family for another week. So I can’t get back to my MacBook anyway. I’ll try the reset, erase then set up as new tonight. I just need take some pics of my app layout with my phone first. Thanks again for the help.
     
  7. Two macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    #7

    I have this exact same problem. I really don’t want to wipe it clean and start from scratch. Ugh.
     
  8. tps3443 macrumors 6502a

    tps3443

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Location:
    NC,USA
    #8
    This thread motivated me to wipe my iPad Pro 1TB lol. I reset the entire thing, and erased everything! Then I set it up as a new iPad, and not from some backup. I’m certain I’ll find that performance is more in line with where it should be. I didn’t have any issues before, but I set it up originally from a backup. And that backup was from an iPad with 4GB of ram. So I just finished setting everything up. I’d recommend doing it.

    I should’ve done this weeks ago.
     
  9. ericwn macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    #9
    I thought it made a difference but when I actually tried it, it didn’t feel any quicker. It’s certainly a troubleshooting step if your backup from an ancient device makes your new one slow, but I bet in real life that’s not many people.
     
  10. RevTEG thread starter macrumors 6502a

    RevTEG

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Location:
    San Jose, Ca
    #10
    I took mine in to Apple. They saw the issue and reset my gen 3 iPad Pro. Apple helped me set it up as new and the problem came right back as soon as I started taking screenshots. The crazy thing, for me, when I delete all the screenshots my other photos load like they should in the iMessage app.
     

Share This Page