TV Screensavers in 4K HDR?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Mac 128, Feb 2, 2019.

  1. Mac 128, Feb 2, 2019
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2019

    Mac 128 macrumors 603

    Mac 128

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    #1
    I have auto-match turned on, and normally leave my ATV 4K in 4K SD. However, the Ariel screensavers don’t seem to kick my TV into HDR mode when they come on.

    If the Ariel screensavers aren’t actually HDR, I really don’t need my tvOS UI to be in HDR — it just seems an unnecessary waste of my TV backlight life, which cranks up to “11” with HDR content.

    If they are in HDR, I’m really sort of surprised the ATV doesn’t auto match chroma when the screensavers kick in — it would be a nice touch considering how spectacular some of those screensavers are.
     
  2. 570934, Feb 2, 2019
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2019

    570934 Suspended

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #2
    Two things I have found. 1. The screensavers only come in DV or SD and 2, the match content doesn't work when the screensavers kick in.
     
  3. Mac 128, Feb 2, 2019
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2019

    Mac 128 thread starter macrumors 603

    Mac 128

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    #3
    You’re saying the screensavers are only Dolby Vision, not encoded for HDR-10? My Sony 900E doesn’t do DV, only HDR-10.

    Either way a shame the screensavers don’t auto match to chroma.

    I’ve also noticed that unless an App is coded to switch in and out of HDR as applicable, all programming is shown in HDR. Directv Now shows all programming in HDR even though it’s not. So does VUDU, surprisingly. It appears the App UI is presented in HDR, even if the streamed content is presented in SD. Netflix and Amazon both are in HDR until the content itself turns it off. It makes me wonder if the App developers are designing the App UI for HDR, or if Apple’s just imposing it?
     
  4. priitv8 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #4
    Yes, they do come in HDR only if your video output is set permanently to HDR mode. If it is on SDR (with or without range auto-switch), the screensaver is fetched for your default video setting, ie the SDR version.
     
  5. upandown macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    #5
    Screen savers are in HDR10, or Dolby Vision?
     
  6. AustinJerry macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2013
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #6
    I think the screensaver video mode depends both on the video settings in the ATV and the capabilities of your disply. The screensavers display in Dolby Vision on my Sony Z9F. The ATV is set to output 4K Dolby Vision, with both Match Range and Match Frame Rate turned on.
     
  7. 570934 Suspended

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #7
    The Apple screensavers are only in SD/DD so you can view them properly on HDR10 only TV's
     
  8. Michelasso macrumors 6502

    Michelasso

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Location:
    Treviso, Italy
  9. 570934 Suspended

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #9
    Lol yeah Dolby Vision
     
  10. Michelasso macrumors 6502

    Michelasso

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Location:
    Treviso, Italy
    #10
    All right, then! I makes sense, now. I thought it was yet another acronym! :D
     
  11. 570934 Suspended

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #11
    I keep think Dolby Digital which of course is the audio party of Dolby Labs
     
  12. waw74 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #12
    I also am defaulted to SDR, with range and frame rate matching on.

    I've discovered if I pause during a HDR movie, when the screen saver kicks on, it's also in HDR, and it's always the same one (think it's flying over downtown LA at night.) It seems to have only downloaded that one, since I can't swipe to change it and it just starts over once it finishes.

    when I'm not in HDR mode, it cycles through several
    including the one that I have in HDR, but they all play SDR

    so it seems there are several versions of each screen saver, and it only plays ones that match your current setting.
    not sure how to get it to download more HDR savers though.
     
  13. 570934 Suspended

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #13
    No there's 2, SDR and DV versions. There's no HDR10 version.
    But you are correct about when it kicks in while watching a HDR movie the colour space will stay in HDR but the screensaver will be in SDR....
     
  14. Mac 128 thread starter macrumors 603

    Mac 128

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    #14
    So the DV doesn’t fall back to HDR-10 like DV labeled movies on iTunes? It’s only SD if my TV doesn’t support DV, regardless if I set my ATV output manually to HDR?
     
  15. priitv8 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #15
    No, they should be HDR10. But your aTV needs to be in HDR mode before screensaver starts.
    You can investigate their composition yourself by following this link.
     
  16. 570934 Suspended

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #16
    I'll stand corrected if wrong, but the files which are labelled HDR are in DV so won't be displayed properly if the menu is set to HDR10. I'll double check later today using the devs HUD I'm pretty sure they are in DV and SDR only.
     
  17. Michelasso macrumors 6502

    Michelasso

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Location:
    Treviso, Italy
    #17
    Still regarding those beautiful screensavers... I have them updating everyday. And now I am again with only 4GB free. Which caused issues with Infuse in the past. Is there a way to delete/limit them manually????
     
  18. jole26 macrumors newbie

    jole26

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2018
    #18
    My TV doesn't support DV but does support HDR10.
    My ATV is set to 4K SDR, with range and frame rate matching on.

    If I pause a HDR movie, the screensaver is indeed in HDR (and can only be HDR10).
     
  19. 570934 Suspended

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #19
    I was under the impression that the ATV would automatically offload the aerial screensavers if space is needed?

    That's correct as it appears that it just keeps the current colour space a movie is playing in as the default. I gues this saves it flicking about when going back into playing the movie.
     
  20. priitv8 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Location:
    Estonia
    #20
    Indeed, they are in dvhe.05.07, BL+RPU

    Code:
    Video
    ID                                       : 1
    Format                                   : HEVC
    Format/Info                              : High Efficiency Video Coding
    Commercial name                          : HDR10
    Format profile                           : Main 10@L5@High
    Dolby Vision                             : 1.0, dvhe.05.07, BL+RPU
    Codec ID                                 : dvh1
    Duration                                 : 6 min 0 s
    Bit rate                                 : 8 334 kb/s
    Width                                    : 3 840 pixels
    Height                                   : 2 160 pixels
    Display aspect ratio                     : 16:9
    Frame rate mode                          : Constant
    Frame rate                               : 29.970 (30000/1001) FPS
    Color space                              : YUV
    Chroma subsampling                       : 4:2:0
    Bit depth                                : 10 bits
    Compression mode                         : Lossy
    Bits/(Pixel*Frame)                       : 0.034
    Stream size                              : 358 MiB (100%)
    Title                                    : Core Media Video
    Encoded date                             : UTC 2017-07-22 14:28:00
    Tagged date                              : UTC 2017-07-22 14:28:02
    Color range                              : Limited
    Color primaries                          : BT.2020
    Transfer characteristics                 : PQ
    Matrix coefficients                      : BT.2020 non-constant
    Mastering display color primaries        : Display P3
    Mastering display luminance              : min: 0.0050 cd/m2, max: 4000 cd/m2
    Maximum Content Light Level              : 10000 cd/m2
    Maximum Frame-Average Light Level        : 103 cd/m2
    Codec configuration box                  : hvcC+dvcC
     
  21. 570934 Suspended

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #21
    Correct :)
     
  22. Michelasso macrumors 6502

    Michelasso

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Location:
    Treviso, Italy
    #22
    That was the idea. But it doesn't seem to work as it should. I mean, the last time the issue with Infuse started with 2,5GB (or less) free. So there is still space left. I also opened a Bug Report, hopefully Apple raised the watermark. I'll se in the next days. I just hope I won't have to rebuild all Infuse libraries again, because that's what the genius tvOS deleted the last time..

    I had to fully reset the ATV that time to free the space. I didn't know what else to do.
     

Share This Page