1 Bar of Signal on iPhone 4 with 5.0.1 and 1.59BB

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by soulvoid, Dec 4, 2011.

  1. soulvoid macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    #1
    I just updated my iPhone 4 to 5.0.1 using snow breeze custom Ipsw to preserve my 1.59 base band.

    All is well except that I don't get more then 1 bar of signal. I believe the problem is cosmetic but I'd like for it to go away.

    It was suggested to install ultrAsn0w and that would fix the signal issue but possibly break the mms or vvm. It did nothing. I don't even have a non att sim to try to see if the carrier unlock even worked. Not that I care because I'm on att anyways. But it would be nice for resale in the future.

    So now I'm kinda stuck. I've flipped through numerous google search results and come up with nothing.

    Any suggestions or ideas would be greatly appreciated.

    I guess if there isn't going to be a fix, then I just need to restore with a stock 5.0.1 firmware and re- jailbreak. Thus loosing the 1.59 software unlock possibility.

    Please help.
    Thanks

    Tyler
     
  2. KevinC867, Dec 4, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2011

    KevinC867 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    Location:
    Saratoga, CA
    #2
    If you have "just" updated your phone, perhaps you have not yet done the "just boot" step in redsn0w? (Connect phone to Mac, power it off, run redsn0w, select "extras", then "just boot".) You need to do that to complete the jailbreak.

    My phone also displays just one bar until I do the "just boot" step. After that, the bars work normally. I'm running 5.0 with bb 1.59 on an iPhone 4.

    Edit:
    I'm running ultrasn0w on my phone and I do think that's required for the bars to work (as well as the unlock). I don't really use mms, but visual voicemail works fine.
     
  3. HPLouis macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    #3
    Please check but I don't think Ultrasn0w has been updated for 5.0.1 yet.
     
  4. soulvoid thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    #4
    You are correct sir. I wasn't aware of this.

    So I guess even without ultrasn0w, 5.0.1 gives a false signal strength with a 1.59BB.

    I can't be the only one with this little problem.

    I would think the dev team would have updated ultasn0w by now.
     
  5. steven5210 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    #5
    I have the exact same problem but I'm on BB 2.10.04 and it is purely cosmetic. But it is very annoying as you don't really know if you have great signal or just 1 bar of signal. I plan on just updating it to firmware 4.33 and then preserve the baseband to 5.0. Atleast then I can still use gevey sim to unlock my phone if I ever needed to even though I am on AT&T.
     
  6. rrandyy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    #6
    Even 4.3.x has this problem.

    The options on 4.3.x are:
    1) Live with the incorrect signal bar.
    2) Install ultrasn0w and MMS+voicemail stops working every once in a while without your knowledge.

    I chose option 1.

    I assume 5.x has the same problems.

    Edit: This is for BB 1.59.00
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    Yes, you're not the only one.
    Everyone with 5.0.1 and the 01.59.00 bb on official carrier has this problem.
    And no, they havent updated ultrasnow yet.
    All you can do is wait or update your bb to the stock one to display the bars right.
     
  8. G3N0M3 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    #8
    It's a BB mismatch issue.

    I had the same problem with one bar showing on ios 5 BB 2.10.04.

    Installing the latest ultrasnow fixed it for me.
     
  9. mrJnC macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    #9
    There is a "fix" out there, but it's a bit of a kludge as it runs a script to reinstall Ultrasn0w after each reboot.

    See the most voted answer by SteveIsles in this thread:
    http://jailbreakqa.com/questions/32589/no-mms-or-vvm-after-ultrasn0w-update

    I've been using this script for sometime and it works as described (at least for 4.3.x on an iPhone4 with 1.59BB).

    I haven't tried it with 5.0.1.
     
  10. fpena, May 8, 2012
    Last edited: May 8, 2012

    fpena macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    #10
    I got the same problem after officially unlock my AT&T iphone 4.

    It's running iOS 5.0.1 (BB 1.59).

    Is there any way to update the baseband without having to restore?
     
  11. ZCherub macrumors 6502a

    ZCherub

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    GA, USA
    #11
    Not to my knowledge. Why would you update the BB for a purely cosmetic issue, anyway?
     
  12. b0bab0i macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    #12
    If you have factory unlock, there is no point in preserving baseband anymore.
     
  13. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #13
    Just install ultrasn0w and it is fixed
     
  14. fpena macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    #14
    Exactly...
    I do WANT to update my baseband, but I'm not in the mood to restore the iphone... I wish there was some way to do that without restore :/

    ----------

    I don't want to install ultrasn0w as I don't need it anymore.
    It would be just one more tweak to drain battery.
     
  15. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #15
    EIther that or restore, It's the only way, or live with the 1 signal bar.
     

Share This Page