1 week with the new MBP 2016 16” i7 2.9Ghz R460 1TB SSD Space Grey

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jitgill, Dec 11, 2016.

1. jitgill, Dec 11, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2016

jitgill macrumors member

jitgill

Just a little background. I have been a PC tech since I was in my teens in one capacity or another. Help Desk, Field tech, server tech, fiber tech, network tech and now in ITSM. I started with DOS 3 or 4 and Windows 2.0. I have supported almost all OSs and PCs, Wintel, Mac, Unix, Linux. I had always been a Wintel person until about 5 years ago with my first Mac purchase of a late 2011 MBP 15”. Since then I have been a huge Apple fan and integrated into the Apple ecosystem. I like macs most because I can support Windows, Mac and Linux all on one PC.

I went from the Late 2011 BTO top of the line MBP to the top of the line Late 2016 MBP less 2TB SSD. I absolutely love this thing, from the keyboard to Touch Bar at least for my purposes. There are some issues I have, as nothing is perfect. Keep in mind I am comparing this to my Late 2011 MBP.

Pros:

· Very fast, sexy and a work of Art, a pleasure to look at, even when closed.

· I enjoy using the keyboard, it took about 2 days to get use too, but I now like it much more than the 2011 MBP keyboard.

· The trackpad is fantastic and I have ditched my external mouse, except when playing a game like WOW, which admittedly is about the only game I play, and that occasionally (once or twice a month), so a mouse is handy for that.

· The screen is beautiful, bright and vibrant, not much more I can say about that.

· The touch bar is quite useful for me. I play the guitar and use Garage Band, using it for guitar effects is a breeze with the touch bar as I can change effects and Amp models on the fly. As more apps use the TB, I can see this being a big productivity booster. Can’t wait for apple to update MainStage 3 to use the touch bar.