10.7.1 boot time…Any fix?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by itegypt, Aug 20, 2011.

  1. itegypt, Aug 20, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2011

    itegypt macrumors 6502

    itegypt

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Location:
    US
    #1
    I power on the laptop it stays at the apple spinning wheel for about 30/40 seconds then the desktop overall the computer is fast but anyway to speedup the boot time?
     
  2. C64 macrumors 65816

    C64

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    #2
    Did you select your main disk in System Prefs > Startup Disk?
     
  3. itegypt thread starter macrumors 6502

    itegypt

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Location:
    US
  4. MBHockey macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #4
    You might want try running these in Terminal if you are having unusually long boot times:

    Code:
    sudo kextcache -system-prelinked-kernel
    
    sudo kextcache -system-caches
     
  5. itegypt thread starter macrumors 6502

    itegypt

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Location:
    US
    #5
    I pasted each line individually...nothing happened closed terminal then I shutdown not sure if there is any improvement....can someone explain them commands please? I'm new to mac

    Thanks
     
  6. MBHockey macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #6
    did you hit enter? it should have asked for your admin password to run the commands. From the man page:

    Code:
       -system-prelinked-kernel
                  This option is a convenience to update the prelinked kernel used
                  for startup on the root volume, with all kexts in the system
                  extensions folder that have been loaded to date.  This option
                  implies -all-loaded.
    
         -system-caches
                  Rebuild the info caches for system kexts on the root volume.
     
  7. itegypt thread starter macrumors 6502

    itegypt

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Location:
    US
    #7
    Yes first line it asked for admin password then pasted second line it didn't each line took a second it didn't run scripts or anything then I shutdown after
     

Share This Page