10 officers shot in 24 hours

Discussion in 'Politics, Religion, Social Issues' started by Simgar988, Jan 24, 2011.

1. Simgar988 macrumors 65816

Simgar988

10 police officers have been shot in the past 24 hours in the U.S. in three or four different instances. What is there to make of this? Just random chance or do they feed of eachother as incentive?

It's probably a somber day for officers, let's keep them in our thoughts.

2. mcrain macrumors 68000

mcrain

I can't imagine how scary and dangerous being a police officer must be. When I first started working as a defense lawyer, I saw them as adversaries and was very critical of the work they did. It didn't take very long to get to know those guys (women included) and to develop a deep respect for what they try to do. Where I worked was more rural, and everyone there owns guns. Basically, anyone who wants a gun has one, and that includes the people who are high on drugs, in the middle of an emotional fight with their wife/husband, have mental disorders or are committing more serious crimes.

3. citizenzen macrumors 65816

Couldn't possibly be due to there being so many guns. :rolleyes:

4. Ugg macrumors 68000

Ugg

Of course not!

5. dscuber9000 macrumors 6502a

Also doesn't help that every other teenager seems to hate cops because they got a speeding ticket or something.

6. justaregularjoe macrumors 6502

When you grow up in an area where brutal cops hunt down teens for speeding, minor drug charges, and 'suspicious activity' while they ignore massive drug operations and human trafficking circles, you tend to hate the people who take advantage of their power.

7. dscuber9000 macrumors 6502a

Or it's just easier to chase down an idiot driver compared to taking down a massive drug operation.

8. Liquorpuki macrumors 68020

Liquorpuki

so where you live, beat cops get to choose their assignment and choose to go hunting teens huh

what backwards ass city do you live in

9. yg17 macrumors G5

yg17