Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

pgolik

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 13, 2011
Battery health (beta) on my 6S shows 95%, which looks OK (the battery was replaced by apple for free about a year ago, as it was one of the affected units), but the Battery Life app, as well as Coconut Battery show that it's only about 83% (and it changes a lot day to day).
Is the iOS feature too optimistic, or are the third part apps erratic?

BugeyeSTI

macrumors 604
Aug 19, 2017
Arizona/Illinois
Coconut battery seems to be accurate. It shows within a couple of percent of the Apple battery data. Not sure why your results are so off though. I have no experience with the Battery life app..

Reactions: BigMcGuire

Chazzle

macrumors 68020
Jul 17, 2015
Battery health (beta) on my 6S shows 95%, which looks OK (the battery was replaced by apple for free about a year ago, as it was one of the affected units), but the Battery Life app, as well as Coconut Battery show that it's only about 83% (and it changes a lot day to day).
One important thing to consider is that CoconutBattery is really only accurate for battery health when you are charged up to 100%. See if that makes a difference.

newellj

macrumors G3
Oct 15, 2014
East of Eden

In addition to what the others wrote, be advised that the Battery Life app hasn't had access to iPhone hardware since iOS 10. On my phone the beta Battery Health function gives results very close to Coconut Battery. Battery Life is all over the place.

Chazzle

macrumors 68020
Jul 17, 2015
Here is my experience for reference.

IMG_7688.jpg

CoconutBattery:
Screen Shot 2018-04-04 at 4.04.30 PM.png

simonsi

Contributor
Jan 3, 2014
Auckland
My 11.3 iPad mini doesn't display Battery Health (beta) at all so I assume the function in 11.3 relies upon some underlying hardware feature that is perhaps different to Coconut battery...

Mlrollin91

macrumors G5
Nov 20, 2008