11.5GB of Cellular Data used by “General”???

Discussion in 'iOS 11' started by HoosBruce, Jun 28, 2017.

  1. HoosBruce macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    #1
    Let me preface this by stating that I am running iOS 11 dev beta 2.

    I played golf today and had my phone in my bag the whole time being unused, just as I always do in tournaments, and I finish and check it only to see several texts from Verizon saying I had gone over my monthly data. That was odd because I wasn’t even close to using my data cap, so I looked it up and “General” had used 11.5GB of cellular data during my round!!!

    I have never had this happen and am extremely confused as to what could’ve caused this. I have always been weary of this and have most options for cell data usage toggled off. Has anyone else experienced this with “General” and can anyone offer up some suggestions as to how to combat this in the future? Thanks!
     
  2. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #2
    How do you know it used the entire 11.5GB during your round of golf? It doesn't show when the data was used, and unless you constantly reset the stats manually, it never zeros out.

    Betas typically don't have the cellular data limits imposed by public release version.
     
  3. HoosBruce thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    #3
    Because I keep track of my usage in order to not go over. I reset my statistics every month. We were 4.5 and 5GB of shared data for this cycle before today, and I finished the round and we had eclipsed 16 GB.

    I know about all that, thanks though
     
  4. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #4
    I didn't claim you didn't know what you were doing. But you failed to provide that information in your opening post so its a valid question. But as I mentioned above, betas don't follow data restrictions set forth by a public release. So installs over 100MB will install and so on. Even auto-updates won't be followed by the cellular restriction toggle. So there is something running on the beta that needed cellular service, possible uploading diagnostic files to Apple.
     
  5. HoosBruce thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    #5
    11.5 GBs worth??? I mean what in the hell? I could’ve streamed from Netflix, Spotify, Apple Music, and Overcast all 5 of those hours and not used that much.
     
  6. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #6
    Actually, it is possible. Last year beta testing iOS 10, I had over 30GB of diagnostic files on the device after a month. Those had all been sent to Apple, but mine were probably over WiFi cause I mostly had estate on 24/7.
     
  7. penajmz macrumors 68030

    penajmz

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Location:
    New York City
  8. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #8
    I honestly don't know, but my iPhone is at 5.1MB for 28 days.
     
  9. HoosBruce thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    #9
    I’d just like to know what constitutes as “General” usage and how I can keep that from happening again. Maybe it was a one time fluke? But that was almost really expensive had Verizon not helped us out.
     
  10. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #10
    It very well could be a fluke, but it could also be related to running a beta. And it very well could happen again. Any time you run a beta you are at risk of something like this happening, especially if its diagnostic file related. If it starts happening again, I would downgrade or disable cellular data when not using the device.
     
  11. mariusignorello macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    #11
    Oh it’s easily possible. Those log files can get big. Our home network usage is highest during this time, luckily capped at 1TB.
     
  12. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #12
    The only time I am glad to have Time Warner/Spectrum. No data caps. :D But you gotta deal with all the other cable company nonsense. :confused:
     
  13. mariusignorello macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    #13
    Btw, if you turn on Extended Logging (a setting that is hidden somewhere not visible in the OS), that gives your device unlimited rights to store and upload logs. It will eat up all your storage and data quota. I learned the hard way with that.
     
  14. HoosBruce thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    #14
    Yea I’m definitely going Airplane Mode for the time being while it’s not in use. That was absurd...
     
  15. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #15
    You could just turn off cellular data so you still get phone calls. You just won't get iMessage.
     
  16. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #16
    It might be WiFi Assist data. Do you have WiFi Assist turned on?
     
  17. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #17
    I thought that too, but my WiFi Assist says 13MB, but my WiFi services is 5MB. So I'm confused as to what it is as well. Google didn't help. :confused:
     
  18. penajmz macrumors 68030

    penajmz

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Location:
    New York City
    #18
    That’s what I thought but Wifi assist is tallied somewhere else
    [​IMG]
     
  19. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #19
    Yeah and your numbers are widely different. Mine are only a few MB off.
     
  20. chicagofan00 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    #20
    Could it have possibly been the syncing of your photos/videos back to iCloud? I recall during the iOS 10 betas I would constantly see the fact that my entire library of photos was being synced. Granted, I believe this is only supposed to take place while on WiFi, it could be a bug in the beta that is allowing it to happen via cellular connection.
     
  21. LiamPlayz macrumors member

    LiamPlayz

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    #21
    Every comment aside, it may be a diagnostics bug on iOS 11 beta 2, and isn't actually using that much data.

    Keep in mind, this is a beta, so I wouldn't trust it, instead look on your carriers website to see if anything is actually going on. If there is, reply to me and I might be able to help you further.
     
  22. HoosBruce thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    #22
    No that’s turned off
     
  23. Pbrutto macrumors 6502a

    Pbrutto

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Location:
    Allentown, PA
    #23
    Guy on 9to5 mac podcast had this issue on developer beta 2, it was iCloud Photo Library doing something but he couldn't ever figure out what....
     
  24. HoosBruce thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2013
    #24
    Interesting, that may be it then, because there is literally no other evidence of anything happening or where it came from. IOS 11 betas have been awful for me on the iPhone so far. Worst since iOS 7 honestly.
     
  25. willmtaylor Suspended

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #25
    Have you seen this thread? Could be the culprit.

    https://forums.macrumors.com/thread...-converted-into-heif-or-only-new-one.2054450/
     

Share This Page