13" Air vs 13" rMBP - which is better for streaming & airplay

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by hotttnickkk, Jun 8, 2013.

1. hotttnickkk macrumors newbie

Guys.. I posted this in the MacBook Air forum but got very limited answers.. so I thought I might try my luck here in the "Pro" forum:

I've been using a 15' HP notebook / desktop replacement for about 4 years. It's showing its age.. so I'm thinking about getting a Mac instead just for a change.

So I'm currently comparing the 13" Air and 13" rMBP as they're both within my price range.

I'll be using it mainly for:

- Surfing internet, youtube, streaming shows on demand

- Word processing, some photo processing, some video processing

- The function I'm really interested in is using the Airplay capability with Apple TV and using TV as a dual monitor/increased desktop space, i.e., watching a streaming show or Youtube video on the TV and at the same time doing some work on the notebook, through: http://www.airsquirrels.com/airparrot/

So my question is would the 13" Air be suitable for this? Or would the task be too intensive? Would the 13" rMBP be any better? I see that it also doesn't have a dedicated graphics driver...

2. Ricanlegend macrumors 6502a

for what you describing even an iPad will do :) yes the MacBook air will handle everything you want, if I was go retina especially if you going to watch alot a shows and movies in it.

3. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

thejadedmonkey

I have a 2011 MacBook air and I prefer it to my girlfriends' 13" rMBP. It works great for airplay streaming.

4. Lunfai macrumors 65816

Lunfai

MBA13" if you do light photo/video editing.
    Unless you want a retina display then opt for the rMBP. But I would recommend you save the money and just invest in other hobbies.

5. hotttnickkk thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks Yoda - could you please elaborate on why you'd prefer the Air? Also I heard the sound of the fan on the Air is more prominent than the rMBP - is it true?