13" MBPro from 2011 strange quirk - slower after upgrade

Brodski

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 21, 2017
8
0
I bought a used 13" MBP from 2011 with Intel's i7, 2.7 Gb and Intel 300 512Mb graphics card.

Following the ongoing trend among my peers, I decided to upgrade the RAM and HD to 16Gb and SSD respectively. Adorama did it for me actually.

Ever since, even though my comp is booting very fast (about 20-30 sec) I did find it strange that:

1-When I transfer files from SD camera card via built in SD slot or from external SD/CF card reader, or if I transfer files from one external HD to the other (regardless if its USB or FW800) it rapports unusually long transferring times (2 hours for 45Gb).

2-When I preview video files (HD or 4K UHD), or even if I play them through QTPlayer, VLC, FCPX 10.2.3 or Adobe Premiere 2014 CC, it stutters and plays it choppy. The thing is that, before the RAM, SSD and OS upgrade, these files were played normally without and jerkiness and stutter.

I did some research online but can/t figure out what could be a problem :(

SATA Cable? How can I be sure it is that?
SSD incompatibility? But it seems like the one I have is a proper one.
OS? Should I downgrade t oYosemite? Should I upgrade to Sierra?
Graphics Card is not up to the task? But then, Why would it play it normally with less RAM and inferior HD is its a bout the graphics CARD.

How can I nail it what is a potential problem?!

TIA for any kind of gudanance!


Comp.png Graphics.png Hardware Overview.png HD.png Memory.png SATA.png USB.png SSD.jpg
 

keysofanxiety

macrumors G3
Nov 23, 2011
9,534
25,264
The RAM they've installed is 1600MHz. It should be 1333MHz on your model. I would wager that could be causing a problem, however it may also be the SATA cable as the 13"s tend to have a bit of an issue with them.

A faulty SATA cable is a little more difficult to check, though you can run SMART Utility and see if there are any errors detected with Ultra DMA CRC Error count. That would 100% verify it's the SATA cable if there are any problems found (though it may not display any warnings even if it is failing). SMART Utility can be downloaded here: https://cloudfront.volitans-software.com/smartutility323.zip

You can also try reset the PRAM by holding CMD + ALT + P + R on startup until you hear the Apple boot chime 3 times, then let go.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ZapNZs

ZapNZs

macrumors 68020
Jan 23, 2017
2,310
1,155
Do you have the specifics on the RAM being used?
Have you ran the Apple Hardware Test, and did it throw any errors relating to the HD or RAM?
 

Sanpete

macrumors 68030
Nov 17, 2016
2,596
1,055
Utah
The 1600 MHz RAM is generally used without trouble in this model. Adorama has no doubt done a lot of this kind of thing. If it were the RAM, one might expect worse problems, I think, but maybe it's still possible.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MBP_187

Brodski

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 21, 2017
8
0
The upgade parts were chosen by adorama people and I believe they checked before instalation if they are compatible with my configuration (or at least I hope:).
Tonight I will try to run tests tou suggested. Never did it before so I have to see first how to run hardware test!

Thank youso much for your help and leading me towards solution...
 

Brodski

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 21, 2017
8
0
So I FINALY did the Apple Hardware Test. It didn't found anything wrong...I guess thats good...
What would you suggest as a next step? Reinstalling OS? I don't have original OS...any suggestion how to overcome that?
 

jerryk

macrumors 603
Nov 3, 2011
6,048
3,060
SF Bay Area
So I FINALY did the Apple Hardware Test. It didn't found anything wrong...I guess thats good...
What would you suggest as a next step? Reinstalling OS? I don't have original OS...any suggestion how to overcome that?
You can install a fresh OS from the internet.

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201314

Don't forget to backup your data and ensure you have your app installations available.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ZapNZs

Brodski

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 21, 2017
8
0
Is there any other app/program/test I should do Hardware wise, before I proceed with OS Reinstallation?!


Also, lately, this problem occurred more frequently:

When transferring files between external HDs (USB 2/3) and internal HDs and SD cards, transfer rate is just ridiculous (5Hrs transfer time for like 16Gb of video files)
[doublepost=1489174494][/doublepost]P.S.

Would you suggest to reinstall El Capitan that I have on right now or to reinstall a previous OS?
 

Brodski

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 21, 2017
8
0
Latest news:

I stopped by Genius bar in apple store few days ago. They checked both hardware and software and couldn't find anything wrong...They said it just the limitations of the machine:(

Yet, how come that my machine ii still is doing insanely slow and buggy (yahoo email through safari is very glitchy; transferring 12 Gb beta 2 external USB drives takes 4 HOURS?!??!)) even compared to my friend's non retina airs and macbook pros with inferior processors (i5 as opposed to my i7).

there must be something wrong going on....how can I fix it?

Of course, they suggested I buy a new retina model (year right!!!)
They didn't liked it when I said I am not interested in products and companies who's politics doesn't respect long time users needs for flexibility and opinions on their latest products (myself I am user of apple computers since Performa 250CD model).
 

Brodski

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 21, 2017
8
0
Sanpete, do you mean SMART utility test?

No I didn't run that one...
I did downloaded the app but can't wrap my head around how to do it properly! Still learning...
 

California

macrumors 68040
Aug 21, 2004
3,766
43
Sanpete, do you mean SMART utility test?

No I didn't run that one...
I did downloaded the app but can't wrap my head around how to do it properly! Still learning...
I have the late 2011 13" faster model, almost identical to your machine.

1. My ram is 1600mhz, it is perfect; Crucial brand.
2. Running a Samsung SSD; perfect.

I think you may have two problems.

The Sandisk is a brand I wouldn't buy or use; did you install TRIM? Why did they use Sandisk brand and not Crucial or Samsung?
I'm also running Mavericks; do you have to run Sierra?

My machine is blazing fast and I love having the DVD drive.
[doublepost=1490098423][/doublepost]
I have the late 2011 13" faster model, almost identical to your machine.

1. My ram is 16gbs at 1600mhz, it is perfect; Crucial brand.
2. Running a Samsung SSD; perfect.

I think you may have two problems.

The Sandisk is a brand I wouldn't buy or use; did you install TRIM? Why did they use Sandisk and not Crucial or Samsung?
I'm also running Mavericks; do you have to run Sierra?

My machine is blazing fast and I love having the DVD drive.
 

Brodski

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 21, 2017
8
0
Hi California!!!

I installed TRIM but it still doesn't seem to be as efficient as I was hoping for.
Do you also have intel 3000 graphics card?

When playing a 2.7K or 4K video (go pro files or DSLR video files for example) either in preview or QT Player, or VLC player, does the video play smoothly or it jitters and stutters while playing?
(in case you never did it I can provide you with files if you would be so kind to test it how do they play on your computer?)
I don't know why they installed san disk SSD as opposed to Crucial or Samsung. I guess they just picked u; whatever posed up in their browser what is compatible that they have in stock...

I still didn't upgraded to Sierra...Still using El Capitan...you think I should go UP to Sierra?
 

California

macrumors 68040
Aug 21, 2004
3,766
43
Hi California!!!

I installed TRIM but it still doesn't seem to be as efficient as I was hoping for.
Do you also have intel 3000 graphics card?

When playing a 2.7K or 4K video (go pro files or DSLR video files for example) either in preview or QT Player, or VLC player, does the video play smoothly or it jitters and stutters while playing?
(in case you never did it I can provide you with files if you would be so kind to test it how do they play on your computer?)
I don't know why they installed san disk SSD as opposed to Crucial or Samsung. I guess they just picked u; whatever posed up in their browser what is compatible that they have in stock...

I still didn't upgraded to Sierra...Still using El Capitan...you think I should go UP to Sierra?
Yes same graphics card for all 13" MBPros in 2011.

I'm running Mavericks 10.9.5, I would try to downgrade to Mavericks if you can.

No stuttering at all. Post a link to the video of your computer stuttering if you can.

There is something wrong with one of the below in your computer, as far as I can see:

1. bad Sanddisk SSD

2. bad ram

3. Failing video card

4. Bad install of OSX

Something tells me it's the SSD.
 

Brodski

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 21, 2017
8
0
All around, they tell you that OS downgrading might worsen the problem. are you sure I should go down to Maverick?!

I was thinking to go with OS reinstallation first, before I go with disassembling the computer and buying a new SSD. (which SSD I should get in order not to have any more headaches?)
I am still trying to figure out a idiot proof way to do reinstallation especially because I don't have a original DVD with original install OS.

For some reason it doesn't let me upload the video file, it says files too big :(
Have to figure out different approach.
 

California

macrumors 68040
Aug 21, 2004
3,766
43
All around, they tell you that OS downgrading might worsen the problem. are you sure I should go down to Maverick?!

I was thinking to go with OS reinstallation first, before I go with disassembling the computer and buying a new SSD. (which SSD I should get in order not to have any more headaches?)
I am still trying to figure out a idiot proof way to do reinstallation especially because I don't have a original DVD with original install OS.

For some reason it doesn't let me upload the video file, it says files too big :(
Have to figure out different approach.

"Dissembling" a 13" Macbook Pro really just means taking good care of where you put the screws. It is very easy.

But do a completely fresh new install of the OS. If you are not in CA, you are out of luck now taking your machine to Apple so you are going to have to self-diagnose. Computer too old.
 

ZapNZs

macrumors 68020
Jan 23, 2017
2,310
1,155
"Dissembling" a 13" Macbook Pro really just means taking good care of where you put the screws. It is very easy.

But do a completely fresh new install of the OS. If you are not in CA, you are out of luck now taking your machine to Apple so you are going to have to self-diagnose. Computer too old.
I am pretty sure that Apple will still run hardware diagnostics on older units? For example, I've had them perform MRI and VST on several computers that were out of warranty and classified as "vintage" at the time of testing. I was told they can diagnose them but not do anything else. Is that not correct?
 

California

macrumors 68040
Aug 21, 2004
3,766
43
I am pretty sure that Apple will still run hardware diagnostics on older units? For example, I've had them perform MRI and VST on several computers that were out of warranty and classified as "vintage" at the time of testing. I was told they can diagnose them but not do anything else. Is that not correct?
Make an appointment. But I would drop an Apple oem hard drive and Apple oem ram into it before I wasted my time with their hardware test. Good luck.
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.