13" Stock 2010 MBP boots faster than my 27" i7 iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by MythicFrost, Jul 14, 2010.

  1. MythicFrost macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    Hey,

    I'm wondering how come my mums stock 13" 2010 MacBook Pro boots faster (by about half) than my 27" i7 iMac with a 2TB HD. The MBP has barely anything on it (and only about ~20GB / 70GB on Windows), my iMac has only used about ~200GB on OSX and ~100GB / 150GB on Windows.

    Any thoughts? Wouldn't my system boot up faster...?
     
  2. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #2
    Depends on how much RAM you have. Macs do a RAM check when they boot up. The bigger the amount the longer it takes to check.
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    Repair permissions and verify the disk with Disk Utility. Also, select the OS X HD as the #1 bootup volume from Sys Prefs > Startup volume
     
  4. MythicFrost thread starter macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
    Thanks for your replies,
    Both have 4GB, but I'll be upgrading the iMac to more soon.
    Okay, I'll try that. Should I do that with the Windows partition as well?
    I think that's done because it boots into OSX by default.

    It's quite faster, very noticeable. Even showing the Boot Menu so I can boot into Windows is much faster, and then it loads faster too.

    It surprised me for a 250GB 5400 RPM drive, compared to my 2 TB 7200 RPM drive.
     
  5. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    OS X partition should be fine, no need for Windows

    It does it but the slowdown might happen because it has to seek for the startup volume. It's so little thing to do, has fixed the issue for many people
     
  6. MythicFrost thread starter macrumors 68040

    MythicFrost

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Australia
    #6
    K, thanks.
    I see, I've done that now. I'll check if it boots up faster.
     

Share This Page