13" vs 15" vs Air

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by LeiQQ, Aug 11, 2011.

?

Which should I buy?

Poll closed Aug 18, 2011.
  1. MacBook Pro 13" 2.3 Ghz

40.7%
  2. MacBook Pro 13" 2.7 Ghz

14.8%
  3. MacBook Pro 15" 2.0 Ghz

44.4%
  1. LeiQQ macrumors regular

LeiQQ

I am a PhD student as well as a lecturer traveling back and forth between two different cities quite often (1.5 hr commute via train & bus). I've been using an Asus Eeepc for on-the-go commuting and when staying in one city because when I bought it about the time the first Air came out because I needed something portable but cheap. At that time I was using and still have in use an iMac G5. Then it started acting up and about that time the updated mini released (not the latest update) and I was lucky to catch the Taiwan Apple On-Line store goof up with pricing (google if you are not familiar with it) and got a mac mini snow leopard server maxed out for less than $600US. The mini has been a great replacement for my dying G5 but this Eeepc is driving crazy. I need a portable machine but because I'm staying more and more in one city than the other and space is tight, it would be better for me to get a notebook to carry with me.

At first I was in love with the Air but even with the larger number of pixels I cannot justify spending the money knowing that I can get a much more powerful MacBook Pro. Plus I've been told by my significant other that as a combined birthday and anniversary present I am getting a MacBook Pro 13". This excites me but I'm just wondering...Is it enough? (Not enough of a gift!! ha it's more than enough!) It's just that when I bought my G5 I maxed it out to the highest specs I could get, the same with the mini. Now with this machine since it's a gift, I can't really decide but I can of course throw in a little extra money of my own for something a little speedier. I just need to try to justify that there will be a noticeable difference in performance for me.

Now my questions: