15" MBP early 2011 (QC i7) vs 13" Retina Display Late 2012

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by lagisibuk, Jun 28, 2013.

  1. lagisibuk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    Location:
    Always Somewhere
    #1
    Need your opinion...
    I have 2 macbook

    1. 15 inch with QC i7 2Ghz (2011)
    2. 13 inch with Dual Core i5 Retina display (2012)

    I want to selling one, which one should I sell? why??
    I need your opinion from processor perspective.
     
  2. hakonandersson macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 28, 2013
    #2
    Assuming you're not doing anything extreme with your CPU's, I'd suggest selling the newer 2012.. You'll get a higher percentage of the original cost back on your initial investment - and the 2011 quad core will still be right to handle pretty much any task you can throw at it for the next few years..

    If you want to extend the life of the 2011, go the SSD route if not already done - just make sure to read up about the issue with the optibay/SATA issues on the early 2011 model..

    Cheers.

    //hak
     
  3. lagisibuk thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    Location:
    Always Somewhere
    #3
    thanks for your opinion. u're, I'm not using macbook for extreme activity.
    Hmm, SATE issues on rearly 2011 model??? :(
     
  4. NewishMacGuy macrumors 6502a

    NewishMacGuy

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    #4
    Even if you were, you'd still be better off with the 2011 QC i7. It's definitely a more powerful processor and a more flexible machine (dGPU, etc.).

    The 2011 MBPs cannot reliably run SATA 3 speeds in the optibay. If you want to put another HDD or SSD in the optical drive bay, you have to make sure that it's a SATA 2 drive (which means that speeds will max out at about 250MB/s).


    ____
     
  5. lagisibuk thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    Location:
    Always Somewhere
    #5
    how if I put SSD SATA 3 in HDD position, so I replace HDD to SSD SATA 3. it will be fine?

    I need QC i7 for something task (apps simulator for mobile apps) and editing some sound/music.

    btw, thanks for your explanation :D,:apple:
     
  6. NewishMacGuy macrumors 6502a

    NewishMacGuy

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    #6
    Yes, SATA 3 works fine in the HDD bay, so if you replace the HDD with any SSD you will be OK.


    __
     

Share This Page