1600 Mhz DD3 Ram works on Mac Pro. Should I exchange for 1333 Mhz instead or keep it?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by SamWavy, May 22, 2011.

  1. SamWavy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    #1
    Hey MacRumours users,

    Just bought the 16GB (4GB X 4) PATRIOT RAM KIT DDR3 1600MHz (MODEL PSD34G16002) for $160 from a local computer store (with receipt, and lifetime warranty). The only reason why I got it for cheap was because they did not have the 1066MHz in stock but they did guarantee me that the 1600 MHz would work or my money back.

    FYI: I have the Mac Pro Quad Core 2.8Ghz Nehalem Mid-2010 model.

    So I got home, installed the 16GB Patriot Ram in just minutes and it works! However, when I go under the Mac User's info, it shows that I have installed 1066 MHz. I guess it can't work at 1600 MHz since it doesn't support a higher frequency.

    Now the store is getting the 1333Mhz ram in stock on Tuesday and the 1066 Mhz 2 weeks later, do you think I should exchange it or keep the 1600 Mhz, does it make a difference? Will it affect me in the long run or no? I just don't want any problems in the near future. So far, it's working great.

    Let me know your thoughts and suggestions.
    Thanks :)
     
  2. Psychomacuser macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #2
    Just get 1333 mhz memory and be done with it. Don't assume 1600 will downgrade to 1333. the 2010 mac pro only handles 1333, not 1600.
     
  3. Cindori macrumors 68040

    Cindori

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
  4. cjgonzales1900 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    #4
    Keep it if they gave you enough money off the original price.
     
  5. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #5
    unless they give you 16gb cheaper then160 keep it
     
  6. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #6
    I hope you realize that it's not ECC memory. It will work in your system, but you'll loose ECC functionality (may not be all that important, but this will depend on the software you use). BTW, mixing non-ECC memory with ECC based memory results in all of it running as non-ECC (ECC is either enabled or disabled, not both when the two types are mixed).

    For example, if you're using software based on recursive algorithms, then ECC is a smart thing to have, as one result is based on the previous result. So when an error occurs (incorrect output), it affects every subsequent result (all errors after that point).
     

Share This Page