1st gen iPhone bricked at 2.0, now at 1.1.4 and need to revirginze?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by MIKE1971, Aug 8, 2008.

  1. MIKE1971 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    #1
    Hello and thanks for reading. I am appreciative for any help.

    1st gen iphone, bought it when 1.1.1 came out, i am pretty sure, if not it was 1.0.2. I am on a Macintosh. Was running 1.1.1 hacked to use on T-Mobile.

    So here is the deal.When 2.0 came out, I read around for a bit, got a bad jailbreak/upgrade tutorial and upgraded to 2.0 before I cracked the phone. I knew this was not right but the tutorial said to do it. It didn't work of course. So I downgraded to 1.1.4 but it would not recognize my T-Mobile SIM. I think this is what they call "bricked?"

    So I tried to upgrade again using the PwnageTool again. Still wouldn't recogize my SIM so I downgraded to 1.1.4. I have read around a lot and there is not a lot of information on how to go to 1.1.4 to 1.1.1 successfully using a Mac. OR how do I completely start again or am I screwed? I have spent like 14 or so hours on this, I know a decent amount now, but I really don't want to go any further unless I can confirm the path and I can't find anything about this online, oddly enough. Anyone can help with either stage of downgrade to 1.1.1, revirginize, or how to get my sim working?

    You will be my hero for the month, no joke.
     
  2. lavrishevo macrumors 68000

    lavrishevo

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #2
    When you pwn'd it did you go through expert mode and also provide it with the bootstrapper / neuder yada yada files? You know the 3.9 / 4.6 whatever. I am no expert but I had go back and make sure this was done in my image file for mine to work correctly.
     
  3. spinstorm macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #3
    When you upgraded to 2.0 you locked your phone again so its not exactly amazing that it won't accept a T-Mobile SIM as you locked it to AT&T.

    That is nothing even close to being bricked - you simply put your phone back to factory state!

    Bricked is something that is impossible to get now unless you use ziphone!

    So Please stop using the term.

    You need to make a custom 2.0 firmware using pwnage and restore using it and it will unlock your phone again.

    Read the FAQ I wrote.
     
  4. MIKE1971 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    #4
    Thank you for replying. I have read Spinstorm's tutorial a couple of times and used the Simple mode and did it correctly the second time and I still get no service. I even did both restores on the iphone after another round of pwnage (done correctly) and it won't let me use T-Mobile SIM. I thought somehow I messed up the SIM card taking it out, but tested it on a friends phone and it works. The only thing I have not done is tested my iphone with an ATT sim and I have not done the advance mode on pwnage. I am a little gun shy this time to try this again.

    You are saying though if I follow the tutorial correctly even on Simple Mode it will correct this?
     
  5. MIKE1971 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    #5
    Well, I have to say, third time is a charm. Totally got it to work on the third time. I have been without my phone all week and spent days working on it. I think one of my biggest mistakes was 1. downloading the new system. 2. one time I know I hit the legit iphone user when I was not, probably the last time. Anyway thanks for the words of encouragement and your tutorial is way more comprehensive than the others. Thank you thank you thank you.
     
  6. MIKE1971 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    #6
    Just incase anyone has this problem too, when I went to update my T-Mobile info, nothing took, as my luck continues. wap.voicestream.com, internet2 or 3.voicestream.com. I reset my network settings in the reset section, it loaded the apple icon and a toolbar, then restarted with an edge icon. i was happy to see that but still didn't work. i had to add network settings in the apn again and it worked then.
     
  7. PNutts macrumors 601

    PNutts

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, US
    #7
    That doesn't make sense.

    <Sigh> Another visit from the Bricked Police. Please stop telling people to stop using the term. He had a phone he couldn't use. There are multiple definitions (Google is your friend) and who cares if he used it wrong? If it bothers you that much, tell him your definition. Sheesh.
     

Share This Page