2 iMac & 1 ACD 27" with just one mouse, one keyboard and trackpad - possible??

Discussion in 'iMac' started by CHSeifert, Apr 10, 2011.

  1. CHSeifert, Apr 10, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 24, 2011

    CHSeifert macrumors 6502

    CHSeifert

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark - Scandinavia
    #1
    Is this setup possible ?

    1 ACD 27 in the middle, 1 iMac 27 to the left and 1 iMac 27 to the right.

    One keyboard and mouse+trackpad to control it All via teleport and dual minidisplay ?

    Will use it for webdesign - photoshop on the left iMac, lightroom on the right iMac and dreamweaver/Coda on the middle screen :)
     
  2. Jolly Giant macrumors 6502a

    Jolly Giant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
  3. Jexta macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    #3
    Teleport will work from one iMac to the other, so you will have to set up one mac to use the ACD as an external display, then use teleport to shift to your second iMac.

    It would be an amazing setup to view. Please supply us some images should you splash out and procure all the stated hardware.
     
  4. DannyBres macrumors 65816

    DannyBres

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    That sounds insane!

    you will need 2 licenses for programs you wish to use on both machines...

    and it will be a pain having to switch controls all the time.....

    it would annoy me not having a continuous clipboard etc...

    Also 2 x i5 iMac and 1 x Cinema Display = £4,286

    2.8 quad xeon, 6gb, Mac Pro with 3 cinema displays is only £4,900
     
  5. VPrime macrumors 68000

    VPrime

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Location:
    London Ontario
    #5
    Depends on the licensing agreements. Most would allow this type of thing, it is sort of a grey area.

    There is no pain. If you use teleport it feels almost like one machine, Dont knock it until you tried it. It may not be for everyone, but the set up does work and is used quite a bit.

    Clip board is a non issue. It can transfer across both machines ( pretty sure teleport supports this). only thing is file management, but that could be worked around with shared folders.

    I had a similar set up( minus the 3rd monitor) using a hackintosh and a MacBook. It worked quite well for many things, but there rare a few annoyances you have to get used to.... Like it is 2 separate computers you're working with ;)
     
  6. CHSeifert, Apr 11, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 24, 2011

    CHSeifert thread starter macrumors 6502

    CHSeifert

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark - Scandinavia
    #6
    I Will buy the Student edition of the Adobe Premium complete collection and they allow me to use all the programs on up to 3 of my own computers ( I study at the university in Copenhagen but will start designing websites for clients very soon )

    My plan is to upgrade one of the iMacs next year then the other iMac next year after that and so on :)

    If you read my OP I know teleport is part of the solution, but not sure it is the entire solution :)

    Thanks :)

    Might not be a reality until after the new iMac sandy bridge has been on the Market for at least 2-3 months so the worst firmware and hardware issues have been dealt with and resolved !!

    Until then I must live with a modest 2 monitor setup - 1 iMac 27" ultimate and 1 ACD 27", this will work ok too - just prefer a 3 screen setup so I have the main work area in the center and then the 2 other work areas to the sides.
     
  7. Ca$hflow macrumors 6502

    Ca$hflow

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Location:
    London, ON
    #7
    I guess what I don't understand is why not just buy a mac pro and drive 3 monitors? May it be that your heart is set on 3 apple displays and therefore it will cost 1k each? Then on top of that you would be buying a 27" imac ultimate every year. Sounds like an odd financial move.

    If I were in your shoes I'd buy a 12 core refurbished machine and use 2 monitors until you can afford the third. Plus you can buy refurbished 27" apple displays and save a bucket of money. Final cut pro will utilize all 12 cores so it will run smoother too.
     
  8. Jolly Giant macrumors 6502a

    Jolly Giant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    #8
    my bad, totally missed that :mad:
     

Share This Page