2 x 2.8 MP For £1349.13! Sound Purchase or buy 'Nehalem' alternative after WWDC?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by xiovoix, Jun 2, 2009.

1. xiovoix macrumors regular

xiovoix

I have the opportunity to purchase a brand new 08 mac pro. I have been waiting like many for the new 09 model but I am a little caught up with the new price tag also. There are 3 08 machines at my local stockist in Belfast for £1300 approximately. I am studying an MSc in educational multimedia and need the machine for Maya, Poser, CS3 MC, Pro tools, Reason etc. I currently own a uMBP 2.53 ghz but feel I need that little extra grunt under the bonnet.

Good deal, no go or wait for possible speed bumps? I'm aware of the cost/performance gains in the 09s and I may be buying old tech. But how long would the 2.8 octo stretch to in respect to keeping up with 64 bit computing when more apps embrace snow leopard etc?

Thanks in anticipation! I have had one left over until tomorrow in the shop. So you have until 5pm GMT to give me your opinion as I have to let the guy in the shop know yeah or ney!

2. -Ryan- macrumors 68000

Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5H11 Safari/525.20)

Sorry I can't really help you, but if you don't mind me asking, where in Belfast stocks Macs aside from the Apple Store? I live in Bangor, and aside from the obvious Currys etc have yet to find a good alternative. Thanks!

3. frimple macrumors 6502

Right, well the 2008 2.8 is a 64bit machine. Coming from a dual core 2.53 setup you'll basically be upping your processing power 4x with a 2008 2.8x8. I would suggest that if your current setup is acceptable to you for another year that you stick with it. If it is unacceptable, consider that the octad 2.8 2008 might last you another 2-3 years. Of course upgrades will help meet this target lifespan.