2 x 7200RPM/5400RPM RAID drive in MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by hackerwayne, Nov 24, 2012.

  1. hackerwayne macrumors 6502a

    hackerwayne

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    #1
    Hi there, i have 2 pieces of WD Blue 500GB 5400RPM drive lying around, is it a good idea to RAID 0 them together? What are the good/bad impacts on it? Currently, what i understand is:

    1. Battery life will be much shorter.
    2. Double the transfer rate
    3. Ever so slightly heavier? Lol..
    4. Failure rate is doubled (doesn't really matter)

    Question:
    1. How does it compare to SSD?
    2. How much shorter will the battery be?
    3. Will it boost up performance significantly?
    4. Can i still boot camp on RAID? If no, not a big deal, im sure parallel still works lol.
    4. How fast are 2 x 7200RPM drives in RAID compared to 2 x 5400RPM in RAID and then compared to a single low-mid end SSD, and no, im not getting a SSD for this MBP, just asking :)

    Specs are:

    MBP 2009
    - C2D 2.26GHz
    - 8GB 1066MHz RAM (I find that 1333 has lots of issues on this model)
    - Currently 250GB HDD

    Planning to:
    Remove the optical drive and install a optical drive conversion kit and dump in 2 500GB WD Blue.

    Generally speaking, 2 x 5400RPM should already double the performance of the original 250GB right?
     
  2. mfram macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    #2
    Don't know how much shorter the battery life will be. But I know for sure the performance won't be anything like an SSD. Not even close. Especially not with 5400rpm drives.

    Another option is to get a smallish SSD (64/128/etc) and try a DIY Fusion drive approach. As long as you have 10.8.2 then you can do that. Then you'll get the performance of the SSD with the extra space you want.
     
  3. hackerwayne thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hackerwayne

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    #3
    Hmm.. Sounds good, im planning to do that just because i have some unused HDD lying around. Ill do some benchmarks with them and see how it goes
     
  4. BB.King macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Location:
    London UK
    #4
    I think Fusion setup requires Mountain Lion OS installed, as it is the only OS inc Fusion software. Not sure if the 2009 machine can run ML.
     
  5. GermanyChris macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #5
    uummm
     

    Attached Files:

  6. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #6
    I'm running ML on my mid 2009 MBP. It works fine.
     
  7. hackerwayne thread starter macrumors 6502a

    hackerwayne

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    #7
    Only Early 08 Macs n below can't except MBP 07 n 08
     

Share This Page