2006 1,1 Mac Pro - Needs 27" Monitor - 7300GT gfx =( What can I do?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Sean Dempsey, Jan 29, 2011.

  1. Sean Dempsey macrumors 68000

    Sean Dempsey

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #1
    1,1 Mac Pro.

    I have a pair of 7300gt cards in it, DVI only, can do dual-link.

    I want to add a 27" display.

    Is there a way to do this? Or will I need to find a graphics card upgrade? I have zero clue what cards will work in a 1,1 Mac Pro.

    And, I have zero clue if there's a DVI to Minidisplay Port Adapter.

    Am I hosed here? Better off finding a used 30"? how does one use a minidisplay port on a 2006 Mac Pro? If there is a 100% tested video card that will work, I'd love to buy it, but I have no idea what to buy.
     
  2. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #2
    If you want to use a card that's guaranteed to work, you'll have to go with the 5770 or 5870 direct from Apple. Otherwise, you could try flashing a card, but that can be iffy.
     
  3. Sean Dempsey thread starter macrumors 68000

    Sean Dempsey

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #3
    The apple store is saying these are only compatible with mid 2010 Mac Pro's... is there any confirmed cases of them being put in the original 2006?
     
  4. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #4
    There are actually several confirmed cases of 5770/5870 cards working in 2006-07 Mac Pros because the appropriate EFI-32 firmware is still left in the ROMs. They just aren't "officially" supported by Apple.
     
  5. Sean Dempsey thread starter macrumors 68000

    Sean Dempsey

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    #5
    250 bucks for a video card that is old as dirt. Yikes. Oh well.

    Do you know if it will drive a monitor on all 3 ports? Like a 27" ACD on a mdp, then a 1600x1200 on a mdb with an adapter, and a 1600x1200 on a DVI?
     
  6. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #6
    Yes, that's possible. You might have to do some tinkering though.
     

Share This Page