2006/2007 Disc image for Mac Pro (1,1/2,1) and OS X El Capitan

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by mareman48, Jul 30, 2017.

  1. mareman48 macrumors newbie

    mareman48

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Location:
    England
    #1
    There have been many people who have successfully updated their old Mac pros to El Capitan and even sierra, particularly the 1,1/1,2 pros, my question is, are there any disc images floating around of already cloned working v14 installations builds ?
     
  2. tsmvp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Location:
    Ottawa,ON
    #2
    I got one today for El Capitan. Just had to copy the boot.efi to the two locations and it worked first try.
    Got it off this guide on YouTube.



    CR
     
  3. jbarley macrumors 68040

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #3
    The MP1,1 and 2,1 can be made to run El-Capitan, you'll need at least a MP3,1 to run Sierra or High Sierra.
     
  4. RocksIRC macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Location:
    Santa Clarita, CA
    #4
    great post just about to download now thank you for the share . o_O
     
  5. RocksIRC macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Location:
    Santa Clarita, CA
    #5
    wow this image of el captain is awesome i rebooted into master drive and its working awesome thank you so much!
     
  6. gottria, Oct 16, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2017

    gottria macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    #6
    Got a quick question, do you need to have an upgraded video card for this to work? I have a 1.1 that was successfully flashed to a 2.1 with 16gb of ran and several HDDs but running the stock video card. No matter what method I try all i get is a blank gray screen on boot.

    Edit: Yep that was it. Added some ATI card I had in an old PC and works fine. No boot screen but it works. Now to decide if I want to keep investing in this thing.
     
  7. neosho macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    #7
    Hi, that image is amathing! just got one problem.. when i try to update 2017-003 security update from appstore it crashes and reboots.. any way to fix that??
     
  8. RocksIRC, Oct 21, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2017

    RocksIRC macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Location:
    Santa Clarita, CA
    #8
    yeah i just installed mac app store security update and rebooted fine with my System Information: Model: Mac Pro CPU: Intel Xeon 5150 (4 Threads, 4 Cores) @ 2.66 GHz Memory: 10.00 GB Uptime: 5 minutes Disk Space: 249.07 GB Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GT 120 Display Resolution: 1920 x 1080 OS: OS X El Capitan (Version 10.11.6, Build 15G1611)
    --- Post Merged, Oct 21, 2017 ---
    is there any SSD recommendations any of you have for upgrading to SSD on a MacPro 1,1? I hope to get one in the next week but am clueless as to what I should get.

    P.S. this img of EL Captain has a recovery drive partition also I noticed no one mentioned it here yet so you not only get a img of el captain you get a 100% fully working install of el captain 10.11.6 with recovery partition. its a good thing!
     
  9. RocksIRC macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Location:
    Santa Clarita, CA
    #9
    how do i restore this dmg to hdd partition in windows 7?
     
  10. RocksIRC macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Location:
    Santa Clarita, CA
    #10
    Hey will this image load off usb drive cause my hdd broke which i had replaced today with a fresh 640GB hdd with no osx installed yet. I have a 16GB Monster Digital USB Flash Drive. how can I get it to work off usb?
     
  11. RocksIRC macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Location:
    Santa Clarita, CA
    #11
    i fixed this problem just purchased a hdd with lion pre-installed and then upgraded to el captain.
     
  12. SuperMatt macrumors 6502a

    SuperMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    #12
    I downloaded this image today and now my old Mac Pro 1,1 is running El Capitan! Thanks!
     
  13. msw250 Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    #13
    Someone sent me this link because I'm trying to get El Capitan, which my Macbook Air came with but which Apple Repair upgraded to Sierra, which I do not want. But when I did Internet Recovery, it took the OS back to something else.

    Does this image work for Macbook Air? And if so, where is the url address he refers to in the video & where exactly would I download the image to? Sorry but this stuff is a bit out of my league.
     
  14. SuperMatt macrumors 6502a

    SuperMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    #14
    This is a special disk image for machines with a 32-bit EFI and 64-bit processors. If your machine can already run Sierra, then you are not in that camp. This image therefore will most likely not work on your MacBook Air.
     
  15. hexum311ad macrumors newbie

    hexum311ad

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #15
    thank you immensely for posting this, hopefully I'll get to use this soon. I am seeking the forums advice on the situation I am in.
    • I no longer have the boot USB drive I created to initially install Yosemite a couple years ago. Using the SFOTT method.
    • I'm having the boot to blinking question mark folder screen when I turn the machine on.
    • I only have 1 SSD in there so no other drive is interfering.
    • I tried to pop in a copy of the Snow Leopard disk, to try and reinstall that, as a way to start fresh but it seems like it wasn't being read. Or maybe since i upgraded the vid card to the 8800 i can't see the old OS setup screen.
    TL:DR - MacPro boots to the folder with a question mark. I have a windows machine but no other mac. Is there ANYTHING i can do to get my machine running any OS? Thank you for your input
     
  16. SuperMatt macrumors 6502a

    SuperMatt

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2002
    #16
    I would try putting in the original video card if you still have it. There is no reason the original disk that came with the computer would fail to work with the original hardware unless the computer has other problems.

    Once you get it booted, you can use the disk image mentioned in this thread to image a blank hard drive which should boot El Cap. You'll need to switch back to the newer the vid card at that point.

    If you can borrow a Mac, you could simply use disk utility with the disk image mentioned in this thread and put it on a hard drive, which would boot the computer.
     
  17. hexum311ad macrumors newbie

    hexum311ad

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2013
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #17
    Hey SuperMatt! thank you for taking the time to reply, I am going to follow your suggestions, I will just need to put in a little effort. Let me recap what you said to make sure I didn't miss anything.
    • PRAM. Before you replied, I read that I should also try the PRAM reset. So I'm going to do this first to see if that changes anything.
    • Original Video card. its a 2006 macpro 1,1 but I have upgraded every component possible and of course I threw it out at some point. But I don't care, I'll buy it if there's a chance it could get me back on track. GeForce 7300GT right? I can get from eBay for $20.
    • Image a blank HD using my friends MBP. I have a friend that has a MacBook Pro laptop, so I'm going to try the method in this thread (and the yosemite one) to create myself an image that i should be able to boot from.
    Let me know if I missed anything, thanks again!
     
  18. plentyoftimeto69 macrumors member

    plentyoftimeto69

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Location:
    Tampa
    #18
    I have a bootable image of a fresh El Capitan install from last year with the EFI mods already in place if anybody needs it.
     
  19. luismagone macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2018
    #19

    Where can I get that image?

    Thanks
    LuisM
    --- Post Merged, Nov 7, 2018 ---

    Where can I get (download that Image?

    Thanks

    Luis M
     
  20. Tron1969 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2018
    #20
    I am looking for this if you still have it? Thanks I’ll advance
     
  21. Machac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2018
    #21
    Can someone upload a bootable 10.11.6 backup image, which I could use for my 1.1 with CCC?
     
  22. mvogia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2019
    #22
    I would like to have this image please. thank you
     
  23. bumz961 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2019
    #23
    If you still have this I am interested in it. Thanks
     

Share This Page

22 July 30, 2017