2015 27" iMac- any photographers out there- how is Lightroom/ACR running

Discussion in 'iMac' started by trayloader, Oct 22, 2015.

  1. trayloader macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    #1
    Hi Folks,

    having the "old" 3.5Ghz iMac which seems to be pretty taxed by medium format RAWs (even under ACR 9.2/LR6).
    Is the new machine an improvement?

    thank You
     
  2. bhilibb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #2
    Send me a sample I can test it :) With Canon 5DSR RAW files the CPU is getting really hot.
     
  3. trayloader, Oct 22, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2015

    trayloader thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    #3
    here´s a test with Leica S2 RAW:
    http://cl.ly/1H27072F3E1N


    iMac 5K 3.5Ghz i5
    16GB RAM
    OSX 10.10.5
    1TB fusion drive
    PS CC 2014
    Camera RAW 9.2 (same as LR6)


    • everything reset in ACR/LR.
    No lens corrections etc. activated.

    • opening it in ACR shows a 4 sec. beachball until its viewable in hires

    • view at 100% 2-3sec.

    • saving to disc as TIF 5 sec


    that´s longer than my i7 2011 27"
     
  4. bhilibb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #4
    I can open and save it as tif immediately. It is even larger than the Canon 5DSR RAW so the CPU was working a lot. GPU (M395) is fine even when applying filters (Nik Collection) to it.
     
  5. trayloader thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    #5
    That is a very unspecific answer.

    Mine is also showing up instantly, but not at the retina rez.
    It takes these 4 seconds to kick in natively.And that´s a pain if You have to look into various files.
     
  6. bhilibb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #6
    Ah sorry my specs are: i7 4.0 GHz, ATI M395, OS 10.11, PS CC 2015, LR CC 2015
     
  7. trayloader thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    #7
    How about the tests I did-100%
    beachball

    etc.
     
  8. bhilibb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #8
    I did exactly the same as you plus adding some filters afterwards. No beachball etc.
     
  9. trayloader thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    #9
    Sorry if I was´t precise enough.
    I don´t mean the OS X beachball, but the ACR status beachball within the development window.
    You´ll witness it on the top right:
    Bildschirmfoto 2015-10-22 um 15.15.34.jpg
     
  10. Jeff Flowerday, Oct 22, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2015

    Jeff Flowerday macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    #10
    bhilibb:

    Are LR development adjustments responsive? Display lag or artifacting before adjust takes place?
    Zooming in and out in develop module?
    Zooming in and out in library module?

    I have an A7R2 and I'm a little concerned that Lightroom is going to be too much of a dog on it. Lightroom isn't exactly a good performer by nature.
     
  11. bhilibb, Oct 22, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2015

    bhilibb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #11
    Ah this "beachball" :D it spins around 3sec. If I then click open image in PS there is a spinning thing until it asked me which color spectrum I want to use. Don't know if it is already rendering to sRGB at this time. The time until the Window with the color spectrum shows up is about 3sec also.

    @Jeff Flowerday: There is a noticeable lag in library mode and switching between library and develop mode. In develop mode everything is smooth. With lag I mean the first time opening the RAW file it shows up immediately but there is a spinning thing saying loading data for about 6sec at pictures with high detail (night shot). It is just there the first time opening it. First time zooming into the picture there is a lag of 0.5-1sec the first time.
     
  12. bhilibb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #12
  13. Jeff Flowerday macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    #13

    Did you create the 1:1 preview on import? If not does that 6 sec delay go away if you do?

    The GPU is only used in the develop module and if your 395 is smooth the 395x should be equivalent or slightly better.
     
  14. bhilibb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #14
    Yes there is no lag with the 1:1 preview except the short one when I zoom in the first time.

    Ah ok thats why it performs better in the develop mode.
     
  15. trayloader thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    #15
    OK finally.
    NOW we´re talking.
    So that´s then basically the same as on my machine.No difference between 2014 & 15 machines at this point.Skylake makes no difference in combination with Adobe laziness.Sad.
     
  16. Moriske macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    #16
    Is there much difference in performance between R9 M390 and M395, using lightroom or light video edtit?
     
  17. TonySemaanPhoto macrumors newbie

    TonySemaanPhoto

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    #17
    Nik sucks for retina though
     

Share This Page