256mb v. 512mb VRAM for single monitor

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by andrew086, Apr 28, 2010.

  1. andrew086 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    #1
    I purchased a base model 15" (2.4 i5), which only has 256mb of vram. I was planning on getting FCS and a 23" monitor. Because I'm not doing anything professional, I don't mind the slower times for FCS, but would the 256mb vram be enough to handle a 23" monitor? I will have the MacBook Pro closed while connected to the monitor as well, if that makes a difference at all.

    Thanks :)
     
  2. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    It will be more than enough, there is not that much difference between 256MB vs 512MB. FCP uses the CPU anyway, the GPU is hardly touched.
     
  3. Chupa Chupa macrumors G5

    Chupa Chupa

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #3
    It's fine. You'd have to get a 30" and run a GPU dependent app like Motion before you ran into real frame rate issues.
     
  4. andrew086 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    #4
    I might use Motion sometimes, but only on the 23" monitor. Would 256mb be good enough for that?
     
  5. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #5
    YES. Except you have to have highly complex scenes with lots of layers, and it is imperative you don't lose 4 to 7 frames per second.
     

Share This Page