27'' imac trade for ACD 27'' + $$ if you already have an macbook pro?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by stefmesman, May 23, 2011.

  1. stefmesman, May 23, 2011
    Last edited: May 23, 2011

    stefmesman macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #1
    would you trade an 27'' imac for an 27'' cinema display+400 bucks if you got an equally powerfull macbook as the imac?

    27'' imac i7 quad late 2009 512mb gpu, 8gbram 1tb hd

    vs

    cinema display 27''
    400 bucks

    i already own an 2,2Ghz early 2011 mpb 15'' with 1gb gpu and 8gbram.


    please help.
     
  2. DustinT macrumors 68000

    DustinT

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #2
    It depends on the specs of the iMac you are trading.
     
  3. palpatine macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #4
    You'll get a better response to your thread if you tell us what it is about in the title. Also, no one can really answer that question for you unless you tell us what your situation is.

    Me? No. But, I don't have a 27" imac and i don't want a cinema display.
     
  4. stefmesman thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Netherlands
  5. palpatine macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #6
    That's better, but what about you :)

    What are you planning to use your MBP for (video editing / gaming?) and how do you use it (want to hang out in coffee shops / want to work at home, at my desk)?
     
  6. gullySn0wCat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    #7
    I would do it before the guy changes his mind! That MBP kicks that iMac's a$$, and you also have the $1000 monitor when you decide to upgrade to your next computer. It is a pretty good deal!!!!!!!!!
     
  7. stefmesman thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #8

    i use it for video editing and visual effects. i use my mbp at home and at school every day.
     
  8. stefmesman thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #9
    my imac can also serve as a screen for my next computer so thats not really an argument. i know the mbp is faster. but i can also hook it up to the imac via displayport and have the same result as an ACD except less usb ports.
     
  9. palpatine macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #10
    i'd take the monitor over the imac. it doesn't sound like you need two computers (i don't). the monitor will probably age pretty well and you'll have the extra 400 dollars. why not?
     
  10. gullySn0wCat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    #11
    Yea but the power draw for the iMac compared to ACD / more things to break make that into "an argument" :D
     
  11. stefmesman thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #12
    i do not have an a real use for an extra computer other then using it as a server / extra computer around the house.
     
  12. DustinT macrumors 68000

    DustinT

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
  13. deadlystriker macrumors regular

    deadlystriker

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
  14. stefmesman thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #15
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; nl-nl) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    But its still an xtra mac for only 400,- compared to say a mini this is still a beast and u pay 700 for a mini
     
  15. dagamer34 macrumors 65816

    dagamer34

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #16
    Doesn't really matter. A 2009 27" iMac can be had for $1300. Having a computer in the display is actually a negative in the long term because you'll never really want to use the computer (it'll be too slow), and I'm also sure the computer has to be running in order to have target display mode active.

    Take the monitor and run!
     
  16. xxBURT0Nxx macrumors 68020

    xxBURT0Nxx

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    #17
    depends if you think your imac is worth $400 or not...

    if it is keep it and use target display mode and you will also have a second mac to use as a server, kids computer, backup if you need to send the mbp in for repair, etc.

    If you don't care for a second computer and would rather have $400 get rid of the iMac and use the ACD.

    seems like a pretty bad deal to me if the iMac is worth $1300....

    That means you are basically paying $900 for the ACD, pretty much retail price... unless it is brand new I'd pass, you can find used ACD for $500-$700 depending on how old it is.

    Hell I see 30" ACD's for $550 in my area on CL...
     
  17. stefmesman thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #18
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; nl-nl) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Anyone else care to sharean oppinion?
     
  18. teleromeo macrumors 65816

    teleromeo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    kidnapped by aliens
  19. xxBURT0Nxx macrumors 68020

    xxBURT0Nxx

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    #20
    how old is the ACD? I think it's kind of a rip off to be honest... if you don't want the iMac why not just sell it, then use the cash and you can but a brand new ACD for the same price or you can go for a used one and pocket even more cash.
     
  20. stefmesman thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #21
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; nl-nl) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    The acd is only a month old. I still have 1,5 years applecare left on the imac
     
  21. xxBURT0Nxx macrumors 68020

    xxBURT0Nxx

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    #22
    oh well then yeah go for it that's not a bad deal if you'd rather have cash than the computer...

    I'd personally keep it and use it as a media server, but it doesn't sound like you need one so might as well take the cash :D
     

Share This Page