27-in iMac maxed out or middle-of-the-road iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by butterfly1981, Jun 16, 2011.

1. butterfly1981 macrumors newbie

Hi

I am a grad student. I am currently learning InDesign and Final Cut Pro. I would like to use these professionally in the future, but I am not quite there yet. (Final Cut Pro X (soon) for mini-documentaries up to 20 min--probably nothing feature length in the future.)

I am purchasing an iMac with the education discount, but not sure which configuration is best for me. This is my first Mac--and I am very excited! :)

I am debating between getting:

The top-of-the-line, new, 27-inch iMac, 3.4Ghz, i7, 2TB, 2GB graphics card, 4GB ram for $2304. (I will upgrade memory separately to save $.)

Versus buying something more middle-of-the-road like a 21-inch iMac, 2.8Ghz i7, 2TB, 512 graphics card, 4GB ram (upgrade separately) for $1714. (No option to upgrade graphics card.)

Or even the same 21-inch as above, but a 2.7Ghz i5 for $1534.

Reasons for buying the big momma mac are that:
    --I am a broke student and don't foresee buying another new computer for as long as I can manage.
    --In the far-far-off future when I get a new computer, I won't have the student discount anymore.
    --I think (please correct me if I am wrong) that the computer is probably more than I need now, but it should be able to grow with me as I get my graphics and video editing skills to a marketable level, and I can work professionally on it then.
    --And, oh, that 27-inch screen is pretty. :)

Reasons for buying the 21-inch:
    --I am broke student and can't afford either computer without loans I'll be paying off forever, so better to be conservative $-wise.
    --I am *not* using FCP or InDesign for income yet, even though that is my goal. If I don't reach my goal, I "overbought" with the big momma mac.