3 devices, 1 computer and common external drive for music. How to still keep seprate?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by EC99SS, Nov 26, 2012.

1. EC99SS macrumors member

Hi all
    I'm hoping you can help. I'm still fairly new to itunes and iphones. Here's the situation.

We have 2 iphones (mine and wife) and an Ipod touch (kid) with one computer. My wife and I also have our own itunes accounts. I understand to keep separate libraries I can create separate user accounts on the computer

I'd like to use use an external drive to keep all the music, movies, etc (like a central location) on and have each user account pull from that when launching their itunes. This way everyone can create their own libraries from a central location and have access to all the songs and movies.

1) However I have some MMA videos/movies on my iphone that I don't want in the central location drive for my kids to see and/or sync to their itouch. When I sync my iphone to itunes (within my user account), is there a way to make sure those MMA vids don't make it into the external drive?

2) Now in retrospect, how about songs? If I download a song using my iphone. Or if my wife downloads one using her iphone and her own account, How can I get it into my central location for songs so the other devices can add it to their libraries?

Hope this made sense. I'm probably making it more difficult than it is.

Thanks!

2. zhenya macrumors 603

zhenya

I would suggest that unless you have a real desire to have completely separate libraries on the computer for some reason that you instead have just one library and sync all devices to that single library, choosing a subset of content to be placed on each device according to everyone's own preference. I'd also suggest that you use a single iTunes Store account for purchases as this way everyone will be able to share paid content like apps music and movies rather than having to possibly pay for it twice.