32 or 64 bit for bootcamping with early 08 mbp(among a plethora of other questions)

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by ajumbaje, Aug 30, 2010.

  1. ajumbaje macrumors 6502

    ajumbaje

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Location:
    VA
    #1
    I am deciding to bootcamp my macbook pro because I have to use ArcEditor 9.3.1 for my Introduction to Geographic information systems class.

    The mbp I am using right now is in my sig(4 gb ram), so I was wondering if I need a 64 bit version or will 32 do. Also, home premium or professional? I wouldnt be using my campus network a whole lot(commute + non-degree seeking) and they require students have the professional version, but I wouldnt think I apply under that

    I also plan on using steam so I can get a couple strategy games on there.

    One more thing, how would I use the printscreen function in windows via my wired keyboard and my keyboard on my mbp? I recall seeing things like fn + f11 and alt+fn+11(for active window)

    Also, whats the best antivirus you would recommend for windows 7?
     
  2. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #2
    Check the guide http://guides.macrumors.com/Choosing_which_version_of_Windows_7_to_install you should be fine with Home Premium 64 bit, but check if you can get a deal on Professional via the school bookstore or your department.

    Keys: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1220
    AV: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=997413

    B
     
  3. Harmush macrumors 6502a

    Harmush

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Location:
    Liverpool
    #3
    i have an early 2009 macbook, 2ghz core 2 duo.

    i use windows xp 64bit pro in VMware fusion. works perfectly.

    also i use mcafee enterprise addition for my virus scanner. on both windows and mac. get them from for being a software engineering student. if you can get hold of that i would recommend it. doesn't take much looking after.
     
  4. ajumbaje thread starter macrumors 6502

    ajumbaje

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Location:
    VA
    #4
    deals only via upgrade discs :/

    ill look on ecampusstore or whatever that site is to see if they sell that
     
  5. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    Can be made to work just fine. http://www.winsupersite.com/win7/clean_install_upgrade_media.asp

    The question is do you stay fully license compliant and buy a $200 full packaged retail product or go with an OEM/System Builder Edition for $99 that is not licensed to end users and has all kinds of other license limitations or go with a $29(?) student/retail upgrade without a qualifying license to upgrade from...

    There are plenty of free AV options. Check the thread I linked to.

    B
     
  6. ajumbaje thread starter macrumors 6502

    ajumbaje

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Location:
    VA
    #6
    im just going with the retail one here. If I had vista beforehand, I would do the upgrade. I just dont want to entail much more risk than needed, hence the reason why I'm going to get the full retail. I tend to take these things rather conservatively, because I'm dealing with my main method of productivity and communication
     
  7. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #7
    Absolutely nothing wrong with full retail. It's definitely the most flexible of the bunch, and the only one explicitly "supported" by both Apple and Microsoft.

    B
     

Share This Page