32gb iPhone 6

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by vbtwo31984, Oct 5, 2014.

  1. vbtwo31984 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #1
    Just noticed the following when going to Usage settings on a display iPhone 6 at the Apple Store:
    Storage:
    Used - 8GB
    Available - 23.5GB

    So add them up, a 32GB iPhone 6? It's possible that they made a bunch of these and since they're not selling them they're just using them for display models.

    Attached photo (with crappy distortion).
     

    Attached Files:

  2. mtneer macrumors 68020

    mtneer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    #2
    Could also be a model they would release in other markets or in 2015 when the 6S/+ drops in.
     
  3. vi2867 macrumors 6502

    vi2867

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Eastvale, CA
    #3
    I am pretty sure they were planning on release an entry level 32GB instead of 16GB, but at the last minute decided to scratch the 32GB to push sales for the 64GB. Great marking by Apple to get people to buy at a higher price without having to say they increased the price of the iPhone.
     
  4. Enabledobject macrumors 6502

    Enabledobject

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    #4
    But the 64 is the same price the 32 was.
     
  5. KPOM macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    #5
    But lots of people (perhaps even me) would have purchased the base model if it were 32GB. Instead they purchased the 64GB, which costs about $5 more to make.
     
  6. vi2867 macrumors 6502

    vi2867

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Eastvale, CA
    #6
    Apple was planning to offer the 32GB phone for $199 and not offer 16GB phone.
     
  7. darkonex macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    #7
    Which is what they should have done, 16GB phones need to go the way of the floppy drive imo
     
  8. Retired Cat macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    #8

    I'm not sure how last minute these design changes can be made, because Apple needs millions of flash memory chips. The orders would have to be placed well before production begins.
     
  9. 617aircav Suspended

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    #9
    i was happy they made the 64gb $650, saved me 100 bucks.
     
  10. vi2867 macrumors 6502

    vi2867

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Eastvale, CA
    #10
    Exactly, how many people tried to update to iOS 8, but to find out they did not have enough room for the update...
     
  11. yaboyac29 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    #11
    except you could update to iOS 8 without deleting anything :rolleyes:
     
  12. sheldomacrumors macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #12
    Wow this is really bad, entry should have been 32gb these days 16gb does not get you anywhere.
     
  13. loon3y macrumors 65816

    loon3y

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #13

    yeah through iTunes, but who the hell wants to do that now a days
     
  14. 617aircav Suspended

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    #14
    maybe not you, but those that buy it are fine.
     
  15. sheldomacrumors macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #15
    Agreed, however Apple have played it well considering all I know want the 64gb which = more money for Apple. I got the 128gb and it is ridiculous I can not even get close to filling up the storage!
     
  16. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #16
    Apple has plenty of 16GB chips, and they've got plenty of devices that could use the 32GB chips. I'm sure they could do a switch if they chose to.
     
  17. doboy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #17

    You know this how? From trusty rumors? If Apple made the lowest model 32GB there would be people complaining for a 16GB version at a lower price.
     
  18. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #18
    I sincerely doubt that. I don't remember people clamoring for the 4GB and 8GB models when Apple dropped those
     
  19. r-m macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    #19
    Is the 32gb chip a 32gb chip, or is it made up of 2x16gb or 4x8gb? Same for bigger devices, are they just modules of 8 or 16gb, or just a 64 or 128?

    Reason I ask, if it's 2x16 to make up the 32, possible that apple discovered a flaw with one of the 16 modules at the 11th hour, and disabled it?
     
  20. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #20
    On the iPhones they use only 1 chip. At least that was the case in the past. iPod touches use (or used) 2 chips, which is why until recently, their max capacity was always twice that of the iPhone's
     
  21. 617aircav Suspended

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    #21

    I don't doubt it. Apple reduced the price of the 64gb and some are complains that 32gb should have been the entry level.
     
  22. r-m macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    #22
    I see, thanks.
    I went to have a look at iFixIt's teardown to try and answer it myself, but couldn't fathom it.
     
  23. terraphantm macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #23
    That's a different situation.
     
  24. Zinthar macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    #24
    The most prevalent rumor from analysts familiar with Apple's negotiations with US carriers was that Apple was planning on making the entry point for iPhone 6 $299. It's possible that they were actually thinking of going $299/399/499 for 32/64/128GB on the iPhone 6.

    From the perspective of someone who bought a 64GB iPhone 5 and wanted 64GB again, the effective price I paid actually went down $100 vs. the last cycle.

    Also, there are more than a few people who really don't need more than 16GB. For instance, my dad never uses the app store -- I put Google Maps on his phone he only uses the device for phone calls, email, navigation, and internet. There's still 10+ GB free.
     
  25. Bhs1975 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    #25
    It's costing folks more that would have been fine with 32 and have to get the 64.
     

Share This Page