3D Touch Shortcuts Not Working

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by bigcstyle4, Oct 6, 2015.

  1. bigcstyle4 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    #1
    Just got the 6s and restored an iCloud backup from my 6, then upgraded to 9.0.2. Everything is working except the quick action shortcuts for certain apps. Phone only gives Create New Contact (no favorites show up), Messages only gives New Message, nothing at all for Mail, Music, or Maps. Third party apps such as Dropbox also have nothing. Just wondering if anyone else has experienced this before I restore and set up as new which I don't want to do.
     
  2. doboy macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #2
    Maybe try turning off 3D Touch in accessibility then on.
     
  3. HEK macrumors 68040

    HEK

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Location:
    US Eastern time zone
    #3
    Also try rebooting phone.
     
  4. Lobwedgephil macrumors 601

    Lobwedgephil

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    #4
    Its the iCloud backup. My only solution was to setup as new when I had the issue.
     
  5. darrinS macrumors 6502

    darrinS

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Location:
    So Cal
    #5
    Just in case you haven't, you do need to open the apps at least one time for the shortcuts to appear.
     
  6. haruhiko macrumors 601

    haruhiko

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2009
    #6
    For some apps you need to open it once before the 3D Touch menu kicks in, it is because the 3D Touch shortcuts are linked to the apps' functions which may be generated after the app is launched.
     
  7. bigcstyle4 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    #7
    Thanks, I figured that would be the case :(

    I'll probably wait for 9.1 to see if this fixes the problem first. I did find another thread after I posting where it worked for several posters. I'd rather not have to set everything up from scratch again. I haven't set up as new since June of 2007 :)
     
  8. Lobwedgephil macrumors 601

    Lobwedgephil

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    #8
    Yeah, its a pain and sucks. I lost years of messages, so hopefully 9.1 fixes the backup problem.
     
  9. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #9
    This. If you use iCloud for your services, just set the phone up as new and you can still enter your iCloud info during setup. The only major change from your backup is that you will have to redownload your apps and the settings will not carry over.
     

Share This Page