3G chip from iPad on iPhone

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by hgrimberg, Apr 23, 2013.

  1. hgrimberg macrumors 6502

    hgrimberg

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #1
    Is it possible in the US to get a 3g chip saying i am going to use it in the ipad and then use it in an unlocked iphone? So no phone just data.
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  3. hgrimberg thread starter macrumors 6502

    hgrimberg

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #4
    Yes, i mean a data only sim card that you usually get for the ipad but on the iphone. The thing is i am travelling to the US and i bring my iphone but i just want an internet connection for just 3 weeks. I dont need a phone line.
     
  4. hgrimberg thread starter macrumors 6502

    hgrimberg

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
  5. takeshi74 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    #6
    Most US carriers don't offer data only plans for smartphones and using a data-only SIM in a smartphone is likely to violate the carrier's TOS. You'd have to confirm with each carrier unless someone else can speak with first hand experience.

    http://guides.macrumors.com/Help:Forum_Rules
    Also, don't overlook prior threads. You're certainly not the first to ask this question:
    https://www.google.com/search?q=dat...s=chrome.0.57.8706j0&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8
     
  6. hgrimberg thread starter macrumors 6502

    hgrimberg

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #7
    But if i go with my ipad, buy a chip and then use it on my iphone, will the carrier know and ban me?
     
  7. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #8
    I use an AT&T data only sim card in my 4S most of the time. I originally activated it in a Nexus 7 tablet and because AT&T has horrible speeds at my house, I can't use it there.I just put it in my 4S when I go out and have good speeds when I am not at home. Been doing this for 8 months now.

    You do need to set the APN on the phone so that the data will work.

    I always have a Nexus 4 with me as my main phone or I can make calls on the 4S with an app like Talkatone.

    ----------

    They won't care.
     
  8. hgrimberg thread starter macrumors 6502

    hgrimberg

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #9
    Thank you and I suppose a prepaid data only chip is much cheaper than a prepaid phone + data chip. Right?
     
  9. Giuly macrumors 68040

    Giuly

    #10
    Depending on where exactly you plan to go, you might as well just hit the next Starbucks, get a Latte and use the WiFi there.

    I don't think that a StraightTalk prepaid SIM is that much more expensive than an iPad SIM, and you have the benefit of receiving calls. You just need to find a store that has a Micro/Nano-SIM cutter, Best Buy should be among those places.
     
  10. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #11
    That's up to you to decide.

    See the screen shots. The first is T-mobiles data passes. The second is AT&Ts.

    You can get a $30 PHONE plan on T-Mobile now which includes 100 minutes, unlimited texts and 5GB data. The bad thing is that with anything but the T-Mobile iPhone 5, your data connection will be spotty for now. I'm lucky to get "4G" at my house where I get about 9Mbps now on my 4S. I drive a mile from here and I get edge speeds. Most of my area is edge.

    On AT&T using the data sim, I get excellent "4G" speeds 95% of the places I go but have practically no data speed at all when at home.

    So, I have a 3GB data sim card through AT&T that I use in my 4S.
    I have a 3.5GB data sim card through T-Mobile that I use in my Nexus 7 tablet.
    I have two T-Mobile $30 100 minute plans, one I use on a 3GS, one I use on my Nexus 4 phone.

    Right now, I'm just having some fun even though I don't need that many phone/data plans open. I'm just having fun because I am paying less for all of these then what two iPhone plans cost me on AT&T. I'll likely drop down to the two data sim plans and one of the $30 T-Mobile plans.

    I am using the 4S as an iPod Touch with data so I can use iTunes Match while I am out as well as the other phones capabilities including Tapatalk for calls.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. ea9 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    #12
    roammobility can work for you but you'll only have 2G speeds on your iphone.
    It works on TMobiles network.
     
  12. hgrimberg thread starter macrumors 6502

    hgrimberg

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #13
    So Straighttalk prepaid is less expensive than AT&T gophone prepaid?
     
  13. hgrimberg thread starter macrumors 6502

    hgrimberg

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #14
    I went to AT&T and they told me they can only give me phone and text messages but no data because I have an iphone. If it were an android phone it would have been ok.
    It seems there is another carrier called H2O that uses the AT&T network and they can give me data up to 2 GB for $60 and it is 3G. Not sure if it is LTE or 4G...
    Suggestions?
     
  14. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #15
    You don't go to AT&T to sign up for a data only plan.
     
  15. hgrimberg thread starter macrumors 6502

    hgrimberg

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #16
    No, I went and asked for the gophone plan, which is prepaid and they said they can only give phone and text but no data on an iphone.
    I need a prepaid service for phone, text and 4G data. Any other service?
    Thank you.
     
  16. hgrimberg thread starter macrumors 6502

    hgrimberg

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #17
    The iphone 5 factory unlock doesnt support the 1700 band from T mobile?
     
  17. hgrimberg thread starter macrumors 6502

    hgrimberg

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    #18
    It seems T mobile works on 4G with LTE Enabler from Cydia.
     

Share This Page