3GS battery has drained overnight two times in the past 5 days. Not sure why.

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by botsmack, Sep 1, 2009.

1. botsmack macrumors member

I just bought a new iPhone 3GS about 2 weeks ago. This is my first iPhone, so I'm a newbie, so to speak. I've been using it during this time and so far it's an awesome phone. However, last night and this past Friday night, the battery has drained.

Friday night drained it till it died. At first, I thought there was something wrong with the battery, because when I plugged it in to the wall to start charging, nothing would happen. It took it about 2-3 minutes before I got notification that it was charging. This might be by design, though. The battery was between 50-55% before going to bed.

Last night was a little different. I woke up to the battery being 13% when just 7 hours earlier it was at 60-something%.

I don't know what's going on and what to check. Just before the weekend, I installed the new Facebook 3.0 app, so I thought that might have something to do with it. I uninstalled it and the iPhone seemed to keep a charge overnight for the next few days (until last night).

Last night, I installed a few apps, one of which is BargainBin which supposedly offers push, although I didn't enable that. I've verified in the settings that notifications are turned off. In fact, I really don't have any app notifying me at this moment.

I do have Gmail and an Exchange mail account setup and that's it as far as things I can think of.