4 to 5s early shipping + SIM question

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by vincebm, Sep 28, 2013.

1. vincebm macrumors newbie

Well first of all, hi all! :D

This is my first time posting here, but i've been lurking around for a couple years.. Really nice and insightful forums!

Now I got a 5s coming, (space grey 16gb, unlocked, full price) and I guess i was lucky because despite ordering from apple.ca more than 14hours after midnight on september 20th, I *still* got the oct 7 - 10 delivery range! Well, turns out my 5s has shipped early and it is scheduled for delivery on wednesday the 2nd!! :)

Im really eager to get it of course but I have a question on switching the sim when it does get here..

Im on fido in canada, and since even the cheapest voice + data plans here are still crazy expensive compared to anywhere else, i've got a voice only plan on my iPhone 4 that i had gotten from craigslists 2 years ago. I dont really care not having a data plan since there's literally a wi-fi hotspot on every street corner and public areas in my city (i keep cellular data and 3G turned off in settings to restrict to wifi) not mentioning i save 35$ each month.

Anyway, the main point here is I went over to the fido store and got a nano sim since the micro from the 4 wont fit. The only sims they sold were LTE sims. My initial plan was to just put that new sim in my 5s and transfer my plan over to it via the fido website which lets you do that. But now i wonder would my voice-only contract be compatible with that LTE sim? Should i be cutting my old sim to fit nano size instead? Any ideas?

Thanks!

Oh and I will be checking that compass app on the roll function straight out the box. Hope I have a good one.

2. vincebm thread starter macrumors newbie

Well.. Anyone lol? I was also wondering about compatibility if i set up the new iphone 5s from an itunes backup of the iphone 4 with ios6. Any reports on how good/bad that works? Thanks.

3. rdy0329 macrumors 6502