4k Ultra HD monitor questions

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by kalex, Apr 19, 2016.

  1. kalex macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #1
    I have Mac Pro 3,1 and 3 x 24" HP LP2475w LCDs

    I'm thinking of swapping them out for one 55" Ultra HD 4k LCD.

    Question is what is the best way to deal with so much realestate.

    On Windows 10 I can use display fusion software to divide the screen into 9 seperate monitors with their own taskbars

    Does something like this exist on OSX? Can't seem to find it.

    I have GTX 680 4GB Video card which supports 4k resolution so that should not be an issue.

    Anyone using one large LCD with mac, can you describe your setup?
     
  2. netkas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #2
    mp3,1 , gtx980 flashed, 28" 4k sst screen from samsung.

    works well, using 2560x1440 retina mode.

    55" is twice bigger tho, so no need for retina mode, 3840x2160 should be fine.
    on 680 you wont see any display output until the desktop is booted (or switch to hbr1 mode if can (dp1.1), to get boot screen). also you would need displayport input on your display to drive it at 60 hertz
     
  3. kalex thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #3
    Thank you netkas. I currently have boot screen on my 680. Don't remember if i flashed it or not but its working. And I use DP connectors for 2 screens and one via DVI.
    I'm looking to get un55ju6700 hmm not sure if it has DP on it. Need to check. Hmm if it doesn't' have DP what are my options? can HDMI handle it?

    Also - do you use anything special for window management?
     
  4. netkas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #4
    hdmi1.4 can only handle it at 30 hertz which isn't nice

    that tv has only hdmi input, not sure if it's hdmi2.0, you would need to check

    tho some adapters to convert dp1.2 to hdmi2.0 is already available and was confirmed to work with osx.

    >Also - do you use anything special for window management?
    no.
    you would only need switchresX or similar util if you will want to use 3840x2160 non-retina mode

    For bootscreen (if needed) on this tv you would need to connect it to hdmi port on gtx680
     
  5. kalex thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
  6. scott.n macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    #6
    Understand that 4K resolution at 55" (80 ppi) would be a noticeable step down in pixel density from your current monitors (94 ppi). A 43-48" 4K monitor should still allow you to run at the native resolution (so the same amount of real estate as the 55" you're considering) at a comparable or higher ppi.
     
  7. kalex thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #7
    Yep I'm not set on 55" still researching. Might get 48"
     
  8. netkas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #8
  9. kalex thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #10
    Looks like 4 HDMI 2.0a inputs. I think I'll go for the 48" model instead of 55"
     
  10. elleana macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    #11
  11. scotttnz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #12
  12. Somian macrumors member

    Somian

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #14
    stay with the 760! it's less hassle because it's natively supported.

    with the 980ti, you'll need to update the drivers using a GT120 or something every time an OS X update is released
     
  13. nigelbb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #15

    OK, you guys have convinced me:) I have been living with a 30" display for 7 years so a 40" isn't so big a jump in size. Now I just need to find the best price in the UK.
     
  14. Average Pro, Apr 23, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2016

    Average Pro macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Location:
    Cali
    #16
    There was initial excitement, until I saw the price and sRGB 72% NTSC. I read the reviews (publications & customers) but they all lack quantitative comments for professional applications. In short, no comments about quality from professional users.

    I get it, not every monitor is built for professional applications. To have one at 40" would be cool and the cheap price will likely appeal to some. By the way, the price dropped by $100. The search continues.

     
  15. kalex thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #17

    Got the screen. Have a small issue. Can't get 60 hertz to work. Works ok in 30 but doesn't switch to 60.
    TV is samsung Un48JS9000 model. I got the adapter https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B017BQ8I54/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    Any ideas?

    thanks
     
  16. nigelbb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #18
    I would suspect that hooking up the TV via an adapter is the problem. I bought a Philips BDM4065UC 40" monitor which has DP 1.2 but only HDMI 1.4 so I do get 4K@60Hz via DP on my GTX680 but only 4K@30Hz via HDMI. The 40" model is now EOL & has been replaced by the BDM4350UC which is 43" & has HDMI 2.0. My 40" 4K display is wonderful & amazingly good value! The only little quirk is that not only is there no boot screen on DP but it won't even boot if the only connection is DP 1.2 so I have a 24" monitor connected via DVI & all is good.
     
  17. kalex, Jul 12, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2016

    kalex thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #19
    Its suppose to work with the adapter. Found posts with people reporting that it works and saw reviews on the adapter page itself

    Would updating the drivers help?
     
  18. Average Pro macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Location:
    Cali

Share This Page