4S owners on Go Phone prepaid don't get HSPA+

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by MaxBurn, Nov 22, 2011.

  1. MaxBurn macrumors 65816

    MaxBurn

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #1
    Looks like you need an APN of just "phone" to get the faster speed. Read this at anandtech;

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/4971/apple-iphone-4s-review-att-verizon/3
    Saw some other phone notes needing this change to get the faster speed on the net too.

    I tried to change the APN to phone but got the message you aren't subscribed to cellular data.

    As most know by now the go phone SIMs require wap.cingular to get data.
     
  2. benguild macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
  3. tredstone macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    #3
    Does the phone have to be unlocked to use prepaid?
     
  4. MaxBurn thread starter macrumors 65816

    MaxBurn

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #4
    No, it can be one that is locked to AT&T.
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    I thought data on prepaid AT&T sims is always way slower than on post paid accounts anyway.
     
  6. ZBoater macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #6
    And for the noobs, dial

    *3001#12345#*

    to enter Field Test mode. The Field Test menu comes up, select PDP Context Info, select 0, and it will show what APN you are using.

    Because 5 minutes ago I was the noob and I had to look it up...
     
  7. El3ctronics macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
  8. peto01 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Location:
    Slovakia
  9. ZBoater macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #9
    Huh? :confused:
     
  10. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #10
    I've seen conflicting information. Some people are adamant that it does, others are adamant that it doesn't. I personally have not managed get HSPA+ speeds on my 4S (I'm in an HSPA+ area) but speed tests aren't conclusive proof due to network congestion etc (although I have tried it in the middle of the night when there shouldn't be many users on there).
     
  11. MaxBurn thread starter macrumors 65816

    MaxBurn

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2010
    #11
    Well I guess now it is. I havent read that before though, same 3G everyone else gets without the AT&T partner area coverage. So it would be possible to not have coverage on the same places post paid customers have but if you are getting a signal it should be the same speed as other 3G.

    The anandtech link I put in the first post is pretty clear the phone has HSPA+. I trust they haven't made a big blunder. You might have problems getting it in your area though.

    They made it sound like all 4s should have the "phone" APN but maybe you should check.
     
  12. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #12
    Well being outside the US, AT&T APNs aren't really of interest to me ;)

    And in any case, whether I'm personally getting HSDPA or HSPA+ is really irrelevant because it's fast enough :D
     

Share This Page