Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

audirs5

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 20, 2014
Wondering how everyone gets better battery life, when once again, I'm barely getting 5 hours here/ From a FULL charge. nothing too strenuous except some FaceTime calls.

darrinS

macrumors 65816
Oct 21, 2011
So Cal
I'm no expert, but I have heard that for the first week or so of using a new iPhone it does a lot of functions internally so you can't really judge battery life accurately. I think Rene Ritchie explained this on this past Tuesday's MacBreak Weekly.

jk4lebron23

macrumors 65816
Apr 6, 2010
Nashville,TN
Also turn off notifications and location services on stuff that you don't really need them on.

I realized a couple years ago they were eating my battery up!

Bryan Bowler

macrumors 601
Sep 27, 2008
Relax, nothing to worry about right now. It takes 5-8 cycles for the battery to break in. You will see better battery life soon.

joeblow7777

macrumors 604
Sep 7, 2010
This is not fact for Lithium Ion batteries.

But what is true is that when a device is new there may be a lot of optimization and background tasks going on. It may take a few cycles before you start seeing more typical battery life. That makes it seem as though the battery itself is breaking in.

Reactions: eagleglen

Steve686

macrumors 68040
Nov 13, 2007
US>FL>Miami/Dade>Sunny Isles Beach>Condo
But what is true is that when a device is new there may be a lot of optimization and background tasks going on. It may take a few cycles before you start seeing more typical battery life. That makes it seem as though the battery itself is breaking in.
Correct.

Saying so would be more prudent than blaming the battery 'breaking in'.

He needs to check his battery usage over the next week and see where the most draw is reported.

criminycraft

macrumors newbie
Sep 16, 2016
Houston, TX