5S Do Voice and Data Verizon question ?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by ROLLTIDE1, Sep 10, 2013.

  1. ROLLTIDE1 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    #1
    I have yet to see this posted anywhere but will the new 5S do voice and data at the same time on Verizon ?
     
  2. Preed08 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
  3. applefan022 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    #3
    Nope. Would need an extra antenna now and no word on VoLTE mentioned.. Gonna have to wait and see on the iPhone 6. VZ voLTE will roll out mid next year. voLTE phones are due by the end of the year tho on VZ.
     
  4. CEmajr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
  5. cynics macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    #5
    We'll have to wait for the real tech specs but its not looking that way unfortunately.
     
  6. ROLLTIDE1 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    #6
    Well that's very sad news if indeed correct
     
  7. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #7
    That is always the one thing about the iPhone and VZW that confused me. My neighbor's android phone does voice and data over VZW's network, so why not the iPhone?
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    As expected it does not.
    Just like the i5.
    Only on GSM carriers you will be able to talk and use data.
    Maybe it will happen next year with the iPhone 6.
     
  9. gbuc95 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
  10. Hankster macrumors 68020

    Hankster

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #10
    Really? Can you explain in what way? And, are you sure the WiFi wasn't on?
     
  11. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    Some android devices use 2 antennas to connect to both CDMA for voice and LTE for data at the same time.
    Takes more space and uses up more battery.
     
  12. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #12
    No wifi and positive. It works the way you'd expect.
     
  13. ROLLTIDE1 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    #14
    Thanks for the sad tragic news... Guess I will wait for the 6S :D
     

Share This Page