800 mhz

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by DerekRod, May 2, 2012.

  1. DerekRod macrumors 6502a

    DerekRod

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Location:
    NY
    #1
    Someone at my college was telling me that the iPhone has 800 MHZ frequency support but its not active?What the heck does that mean?
     
  2. Shadowbech macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    #2
    Probably means that the CPU, even if it's 1 GHz, is clocked to run at 800 MHz??
     
  3. mooblie macrumors 6502

    mooblie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Location:
    The Highlands, Scotland
  4. Shadowbech macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    #4
  5. bp1000 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2011
    #5
    Im running on 900mhz here in the uk and get brilliant signal.

    Of course none of it matters much if you live in a strong signal area On 2100mhz
     
  6. DerekRod thread starter macrumors 6502a

    DerekRod

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Location:
    NY
    #6
    Id much rather a strong 900 MHZ signal better in building penetration
     
  7. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #7
    Your location says you're in NYC (US). You're not gonna get 900MHz here, as cell carrier aren't licensed for that band in the US, but AT&T and Verizon do have some 850MHz spectrum in New York. No guarantee you'll always be on it though.

    Sprint (for now) is 1900MHz only.
     
  8. falterego macrumors 6502

    falterego

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Location:
    Southern California
    #8
    800MHz was used for iDEN phones on Sprint/Nextel in the US. Sadly I don't believe the chipset in the iPhone 4s will support the plan Sprint has to deploy LTE data on their 800MHz network.

    Maybe next round at the end of 2012 will support it.
     
  9. DerekRod thread starter macrumors 6502a

    DerekRod

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Location:
    NY
    #9
    Yeah Manhattan certainly doesn't have it my 4S wont go to EDGE which is what I would do on my 4 to get data.I wish I could force it but alas 5.1 so no jailbreak=No SBSettings :(

    Supporting LTE on the 800 band requires a whole new chipset.The evolution of LTE was not like CDMA2000 where it didn't require new towers and handsets.
     

Share This Page