A 13" Unibody MB or MBP? Piano player looking to make music.

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by jpsince88, May 9, 2010.

1. jpsince88 macrumors newbie

Hey everybody,

I'm in the market for my very first MacBook. I've done hours, days and weeks of research on both the MB & MBP but can't seem to decide which notebook would be best for me.

I'm looking produce R&B/soul music with the help of my Casio MIDI keyboard and GarageBand. I'm not too big on guitars, laying down drum tracks or synth leads - I'm a singer who is also a self-taught pianist who's been playing for two years and am trying to make good use of my free time by making music (particularly piano tracks).

The one thing that makes me want to get a MacBook is GarageBand. I've played around with the program a handful of times on other people's Macs.. I am very impressed with how easy it is to use (especially for beginning musicians as myself).

Other than that, I don't really see myself using Adobe Photoshop or any other graphic-designing programs or playing too many video games. I'd like to be able to surf the Internet with ease, and browse through my ridiculously large library of music. :D

I know for a fact that whichever notebook I end up buying, I will be incorporating the use of a vocal condensor mic and some sort of audio interface to connect the mic and my keyboard.

I definitely have the funds to buy either of the two, but also.. I definitely would love to save a little, if not, as much money as I can but still be able to buy a product that will suit my needs.

Everybody has their own reason for wanting a Mac.. Apple's products are most definitely the business.

Whether or not you're a musician or not, I'd love your input on my situation.

2. Jamo12 macrumors regular

Jamo12

Mbp