A 1440x900 iPhone visited my site...

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by wheezy, Feb 29, 2012.

  1. wheezy macrumors 65816

    wheezy

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Alpine, UT
    #1
    Was digging around in Google Analytics today on my site and noticed I had a 1440x900 Screen Res iPhone show up on my site.

    [​IMG]

    Also had a 0x0 iPad visit, not sure what that means either. If the ratio stayed true, a 1440 width iPhone should be 1440x960. Anyways, not sure what it all means, just found it interesting.
     
  2. dejo Moderator

    dejo

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Location:
    The Centennial State
  3. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #3
    Or someone changing the User Agent setting in Safari on a Mac.
     
  4. wheezy thread starter macrumors 65816

    wheezy

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Alpine, UT
    #4
    That's my best guess as well, I don't have one to know exactly what it would report. Maybe an iPhone App Developer could chime and let us know? Although, why visit my site in an emulator. I get okay traffic, but that just seems odd to me.

    ----------

    I did that myself, set it to iPad, but Analytics still shows a 1920x1200 Safari/Macintosh combo.
     
  5. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #5
    I'm wanting to say this was it. I've often forgotten to change Safari's user agent back to the default after trying something in iPhone mode on it.
     
  6. Interstella5555 macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #6
    fixed that for you.
     
  7. wheezy thread starter macrumors 65816

    wheezy

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Alpine, UT
    #7
    I did that earlier today, switched the client to iPad in Dev Tools, and loaded the site. It's not showing up that way in my analytics - it still shows Safari on Mac. That's my impression as well, but I haven't been able to duplicate it yet.
     
  8. Roessnakhan macrumors 68040

    Roessnakhan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    ABQ
  9. Rodimus Prime macrumors G4

    Rodimus Prime

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    #9
    There are quite a few ways to fake that information so it is just someone faking it to screw with you. I bet it MacRumors posted theorists they would have a long list of funny looking info.
     
  10. psonice macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    #10
    It'll be a spoofed browser agent. I often change mine to iPhone or iPad to get sites with flash to load up the non-flash version instead (as I don't have flash installed it's kind of necessary).

    I bet google analytics recognises you from a cookie or by IP and doesn't bother updating the browser details.
     
  11. ScootPatoot macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #11
    Nice site but doesn't it hurt your eyes a bit with the black background? After looking through it, and coming back here my eyes take a while to adjust. Is it just me? Not knocking your site in any way.
     
  12. chambone macrumors 6502a

    chambone

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #12
    shouldn't that be 960x1440?
     
  13. wheezy thread starter macrumors 65816

    wheezy

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Alpine, UT
    #13
    Yeah, it bugs me too. Haven't updated that one in a while. The site that got the visit was my portfolio site - http://joeljenkins.me
     
  14. ChazUK macrumors 603

    ChazUK

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Location:
    Essex (UK)
    #14
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (PlayStation Vita 1.61) AppleWebKit/531.22.8 (KHTML, like Gecko) Silk/3.2)

    What aspect ratio would such a screen be?
     

Share This Page