A couple of questions on upgrading a MBP hard drive

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Acamerainjapan, Oct 27, 2012.

  1. Acamerainjapan macrumors newbie

    Acamerainjapan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    #1
    I have a late 2008 15 inch macbook pro (2.53).

    I have decided to upgrade the ram to 8 gb and install a ssd drive.

    Here is my plan:

    I plan on buying the OWC computing 240 kit.

    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other World Computing/DDMBSSD240/

    What I want to do is install the SSD and use my old 320 gb drive as a second drive. Here are my questions.

    1. Should I install the ssd in the hard drive slot and move the 320 gb old drive in the optical drive slot? Will there be a difference of speed in the two drives?

    2. Will I need some sort of data transfer kit to move my hard drive contents to my new SSD, or can I just use a time machine back up?

    Thanks for any tips or experience you guys have in this matter :D
     
  2. Acamerainjapan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Acamerainjapan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    #2
    Been doing some more research.

    I am running snow leopard. I don't have the install disk. Do you recommend using carbon copy?
     
  3. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #3
    If suggest looking into other options besides OWC.

    256GB Samsung 830 drives can be found for $150 on sale(it's a little more than that now at newegg, but still a pretty good deal). You can pick up an optical drive bay adapter for less than $10 on amazon. I bought all the tools I'll ever need for my MBP at Home Depot for about $12(except for the "spudger" as ifixit likes to call it, but you don't need that for this upgrade).

    Links:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820147164
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B0058AH2US/ref=mp_s_a_1?pi=SL500_SL75&qid=1351437802&sr=8-1
    http://m.homedepot.com/p/Husky-8-IN-1-Torx-Screwdriver-Set/100087664/
    http://m.homedepot.com/p/Husky-8-IN-1-Phillips-and-Slotted-Screwdriver-Set-74501/100074336/

    Yes you can use CCC to clone from your old HDD to the new SSD.
     
  4. Acamerainjapan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Acamerainjapan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    #4

    Thank you for your reply. I am in Japan right now so its a little tough to get some supplies, but I can get most things.

    I have heard horror stories about cloning drives. I don't know if its worth the risk. I'm worried about my final cut pro studio 3 and adobe suite transferring over.
     
  5. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #5
    Ah that does make things a little more difficult. Just so you know, I ended up with the Crucial M4 in my 13" mid 2009 MBP. It was the best drive I could find for a good price at the time. To be totally honest it's a slower SATA III drive, but it doesn't really matter because our older MBPs only have SATA II. Here is the thread I created when I upgraded.

    Basically, I'm saying that you have quite a few options for good SSDs, so just find the best deal on one and go for it.

    Then don't clone. Do you use time machine? If you can find a restore DVD for your computer, you should be able to boot from that and select "restore from time machine backup."
     
  6. Acamerainjapan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Acamerainjapan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    #6
    Well I don't have the Snow Leopard DVD, just checked ebay and they cost about a hundred bucks :mad:

    I guess I could upgrade, but that makes me a bit nervous because i've heard that Final Cut Studio 3 (which is my main use for this machine) has some trouble in lion and mountain lion. Not to mention I really love snow leopard and nothing in lion or mountain lion makes me want to upgrade.
     
  7. b0fh666 macrumors 6502a

    b0fh666

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Location:
    south
    #7
    then don't upgrade - do the hard drive clone, you can always go back to your old drive if things go wrong.
     
  8. Acamerainjapan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Acamerainjapan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    #8
    Thanks for the advice. I'm feeling that this is the best option given my circumstances.
     
  9. Idefix macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    #9
    Cloning works just fine.

    Rumors are that Apple will sell you the Snow Leopard disk, you just need to call the toll-free number and tell them you've lost the SL disk that came with your laptop. This will probably be a bit more complicated in Japan...
     
  10. Acamerainjapan thread starter macrumors newbie

    Acamerainjapan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    #10
    Maybe, but I've made some friends at the local apple store, you think that might help?
     

Share This Page