A LOT of power and still lags?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by yusukeaoki, Jan 21, 2012.

  1. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #1
    Hi guys.

    So recently I switched from 8GB to 16GB.
    Obviously more multitasking power.
    Although I still seem to get a lot of lags on my MBP.
    Specs are in my signature.

    Even after boot, my Mac lags a bit. Especially with applications like Safari.
    I rebooted, and wait for all my startup application to boot. Still lags almost every time.
    Start up applications are NortonSecurity, Jumpcut, alfred, gfxcardstatus, istat menu CPU, Temp, and memory. Dashboard is not engaged.

    Even after I wait for all my startup applications to load, I have lags on most applications. Such as lags on switching pages, application freezes (beachball), cant open file and have to wait like 20 sec.

    Are these normal? I mean with such powerful machine, it lags and gets ridiculous.

    I also checked activity monitor and have atleast 12GB free and CPU is throttling about 1~3%.

    Am I the only one?
     
  2. saberahul macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #2
    Had a similar problem. Reinstalled Lion and it fixed it.
     
  3. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #3
    Problems with the hard disk perhaps? App switching aside, it sounds like there's a lot of lag associated with reading from the disk. Have you tried a hardware test to see if that reveals any problems?

    It'd be easy to say go SSD, but of course you should still get more than reasonable performance from a 7200rpm HDD.

    One thing; do you really need all those things on startup? I have exactly nothing... and have never needed anything more.
     
  4. yusukeaoki thread starter macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #4
    Can that be a problem?
    I got Lion on launched date and it wasnt preinstalled so I installed it over SL.
    I thought my RAM was the problem but I guess the OS
     
  5. 153098 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    #5
    You would probably benefit from switching to an SSD over a HDD.
     
  6. yusukeaoki thread starter macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #6
    Which application for hardware test is the best?
    I heard lots but can I get some recommendation?

    I would love to go SSD, but with my pocket, I cant afford a 512GB SSD.
    Maybe 128GB SSD+ 750GB HDD optibay but leave that aside for now.

    On my start up, I just have norton for safety reasons. I download windows apps on Mac to be safe and transfer to bootcamp.
    iStat, i use to see how much im using, jumpcut and alfred is just a helpful tool. I also dont think its necessary to have all these but I think it shouldnt be a problem with my MBP strength.

    ----------

    I would love to but cant afford a 512GB SSD.
    I also carry my MBP around so dont want to carry a external HDD :/
     
  7. thundersteele macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #7
    1. Put back old ram, see if problem persists

    2. If yes, back up, repair disc permissions

    3. If problem persists, reinstall OSX

    4. If problem persists, get a new HD, or bring it to Apple


    Oh, and NortonSecurity might slow down your system... don't download crap, and you don't need it!
     
  8. yusukeaoki thread starter macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #8
    Thanks!
    I try not to use useless stuff but these are the most I need.
    Norton security yes, its the one that takes the most time to load...
     
  9. Jaro65 macrumors 68040

    Jaro65

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #9
    The day I put an SSD in my 17" MBP felt like the day I got a brand new machine. If you can, consider trying it. The difference between SSD and HD is simply amazing.
     
  10. Lone Deranger macrumors 65816

    Lone Deranger

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #10
    Delete that Norton crap! Seriously… it’s some of the worst **** you can soil your Mac with.

    Also, try running some HD diagnostics. I wonder about the health of your drive. It might be failing.
     
  11. yusukeaoki thread starter macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #11
    I use it to find malware but I guess I dont need it...

    What HDD diagnostic application do you prefer?
    I had this MBP since launch date so its almost a year.
     
  12. thundersteele macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #12
    the one called Apple Store Genius.
    Perfect, so it's still under warranty.
     
  13. torana355 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #13
    Nortan is the devil. Delete all traces of it!!! It is the worst anti virus app available as it hogs system resources. Also there is no need for anti virus/malware on mac.
     
  14. yusukeaoki, Jan 22, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2012

    yusukeaoki thread starter macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #14
    I have AppleCare so until 2014 ;)

    ----------

    I got it free from Comcast (Xfinity) so I just installed it but I guess its useless :eek:
    Macs are easily attacked when targeted so I had it just in case...
     
  15. thundersteele macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #15
    Yes, but Norton Security is just a virus scanner. It won't protect you against direct attacks...
     
  16. yusukeaoki thread starter macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #16
    I understand, but it still warns me like when i download a malicious software.
    But I will remove this app now thanks
     
  17. Lone Deranger macrumors 65816

    Lone Deranger

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #17
    Please uninstall it as best you can and get something like Little Snitch to safeguard your Mac.

    Frankly I’d reinstall the Mac from scratch to wipe out any/all Norton (and Snow Leopard) legacy traces.

    For a simple HD diagnostic tool I’ve always used SMART Reporter. Not sure if it works well under Lion though.

    edit: the best safeguard against downloading dodgy software is common sense. ie. Just be mindful of what you download and from where.
     
  18. Blaine macrumors 6502a

    Blaine

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Location:
    Abilene TX
    #18
    Yeah definitely get rid of norton. Just install a virus scanner in windows. Leave the Mac alone. :)
     
  19. phyrexia macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    #19
    You need an SSD. It will ensure victory.

    Any magnetic hard drive you can buy for your machine will be a bottleneck.

    We have the same machine, I see.
     
  20. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #20
    You don't need any 3rd party antivirus app to keep your Mac malware-free. Macs are not immune to malware, but no true viruses exist in the wild that can run on Mac OS X, and there never have been any since it was released 10 years ago. You cannot infect your Mac simply by visiting a website, unzipping a file, opening an email attachment or joining a network. The only malware in the wild that can affect Mac OS X is a handful of trojans, which cannot infect your Mac unless you actively install them, and they can be easily avoided with some basic education, common sense and care in what software you install. Also, Mac OS X Snow Leopard and Lion have anti-malware protection built in, further reducing the need for 3rd party antivirus apps.

    Performance Tips For Mac OS X
     
  21. yusukeaoki thread starter macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #21
    Alright thanks guys! Uninstalling now. Hope this fixes the lag issue...
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  22. CocoSS macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    #22
    Hi,

    I have experienced also some problems after installing Lion over SL. I recommend you back up you mac, and perform a clean install of Lion. At your configuration you should't face no lags or anything.
     
  23. saberahul macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #23
    I did the same. Computer came with SL and installed Lion myself. Reinstallation fixed it for me (my latest backup on TM was also corrupt - had some problem with a specific file causing lot of lag so I restored from an earlier backup and all is well now).
     
  24. Acejam2k macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    #24
    Adding RAM doesn't make your computer faster, simple as that.
     
  25. yusukeaoki thread starter macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #25
    Yes but more multitasking power.
    The only app opened was safari and i already see lag.
    I mean my MBP only used 3/16GB and 1~3% of CPU power.
    I definitely should not see lag.

    ----------

    Was clean install a pain? I never done it before so...
    And my external HDD case just died on me so I have to wait a bit to make backup.
     

Share This Page