Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

lem0nayde

macrumors regular
Original poster
Apr 26, 2002
NYC
I'm loving my new 40gig iPod (it's my first) though I had to send the original back because the metal and plastic began separating on one side. Anyway, I have some questions for experienced iPod users.

1.) It isn't clear from Apple's site if the iPod remote can be used with any set of headphones or if the headphones that come with it are permanently attached. Does the remote just connect to the iPod and then have a mini-jack on the other side to allow any headphones to connect?

2.) Is the iPod remote any good? Worth getting?

3.) I don't mind the headphones that came with the iPod, but I'm curious if the in-ear headphones actually sound better.

4.) Aside from the in-ears, does anyone have any high-recommendations for a pair of lightweight, great-sounding headphones?

Thanks,
Joe

C-Mezak

macrumors regular
Jul 14, 2004
Edinburgh, Scotland
lem0nayde said:
1.) It isn't clear from Apple's site if the iPod remote can be used with any set of headphones or if the headphones that come with it are permanently attached. Does the remote just connect to the iPod and then have a mini-jack on the other side to allow any headphones to connect?
The remote controls are at the female end of a cable that you plug into your ipod. You can connect whatever headphones you like to it.
2.) Is the iPod remote any good? Worth getting?
Depends on your situation. I would definitely get it if I could afford it as I use my ipod while walking around the city. It would be safer and quicker to use the remote to change tracks or the volume rather than pulling my ipod out of my pocket/backpack.
3.) I don't mind the headphones that came with the iPod, but I'm curious if the in-ear headphones actually sound better.