Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

pinto32

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 19, 2003
PA
I'm preparing to "switch," but I my pc-centric mind has a few mac-centric questions that I would really appreciate some help with.

1)As a rule, what is a good amount of RAM to have in OS X ? (internet, powerpoint, excel, digital photography, some DV)

2) Is Applecare a good idea? How much do PB's and ibooks usually cost to repair, as far as common problems go? (I know a 3 year warrenty is the safest bet, but I'm on a budget)

3) I am a student, and use powerpoint a lot. My college doesnt have Keynote on any of its Macs (2:1 mac: pc ratio :)), so I have never used it. Is Keynote equal to/better than Powerpoint?

Thanks for your help!

(I hate my 733mhz pc........I'm drooling over an 800mhz mac.........67mhz must really make a difference!!!):) :)

edesignuk

Moderator emeritus
Mar 25, 2002
London, England
Re: A "switcher" in distress

Originally posted by pinto32
1)As a rule, what is a good amount of RAM to have in OS X ? (internet, powerpoint, excel, digital photography, some DV)
I'd say you want 512MB-1GB to get the best from your Mac & OS X.

The other 2 questions I have no idea about, sorry.

AmbitiousLemon

Moderator emeritus
Nov 28, 2001
down in Fraggle Rock
1) edesignuk is right on the money. but don't buy apple from ram. get the least amount from apple you can and upgrade yourself. http://www.ramseeker.com does price comparisons of ram by apple model. Includes all the major seller (crucial, xmemory, 1884memory, and many more)