a ton of dust under my 3GS screen; should i bother bringing it in?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by evilgreg, Oct 20, 2010.

1. evilgreg macrumors regular

evilgreg

i love my 3GS to death, the thing is stable as a rock. one problem though-theres a very noticeable amount of dust that appeared under my screen one day.

should i bother bringing it into the genious bar? will they just take the screen off and wipe it down? im asking bc its a pain to restore and rejailbreak just to bring it in and have nothing really happen. would they swap out my phone for a new one?

2. mrkramer macrumors 603

mrkramer

personally I wouldn't worry about it, but it depends on which bothers you more, living with the dust there or having to restore and rejailbreak it.

3. fuzion11 macrumors 65816

fuzion11

If it's still under warranty just call Apple and they'll send you a replacement.

I work in the steel industry where dust is all around....and I've had Apple and my wireless carrier Rogers send me a replacement due to dust for my 3G and 3GS

Now that I have the iPhone 4 I think it's built more solid and there is much less chance of dust getting under the screen. CAN ANYONE CONFIRM THIS??

Also if you do get a replacement or just have the screen wiped down, there is plastic caps you can put in the two ports....head phone and charger port to block the openings so no chance of dust will get in your phone. I use them everyday and received them when I purchased my SwitchEasy Nude protective case.

Let us know what you decide and good luck!

4. viper3885 macrumors member

On the iPhone 4 the LCD panel is actually fused to the front glass like the original iPhone was, so there is no way that dust can get under the screen.

5. SAD*FACED*CLOWN macrumors 65816

SAD*FACED*CLOWN

unless it's reletively new most Genius Bar employees will just give it back unless it effects performance of the touch pannel

6. evilgreg thread starter macrumors regular

evilgreg